Thursday 9 February 2023 Dublin: 7°C
James Crombie/INPHO Cork's Patrick Cronin gets a shot away against Waterford.
# Brrrr
Goals key in Cork victory against Waterford in the snow in Mallow tonight
A second successive win in the Munster senior hurling league for the Rebels.

Cork 2-18
Waterford 0-13

Denis Hurley reports from Mallow

CORK SECURED THEIR second Munster SHL win in the space of four days as they finished well to beat Waterford by 11 points at Mallow on Wednesday night.

Having beaten Kerry last Sunday, another win against Limerick this weekend should be enough to see Kieran Kingston’s side into the final, most likely against Clare. However, such an easy victory didn’t appear likely when Waterford eradicated a three-point half-time deficit as Tommy Ryan (two) and Shane Bennett pointed in the first 10 minutes of the second half.

That made it 0-11 each but three Patrick Cronin frees steadied Cork once more and then sub William Leahy marked his introduction with a superb finish to the net after William Egan’s pass found him.

That put Cork five ahead and they pushed on from there, with Cronin’s late goal putting a gloss on the win and giving him a personal tally of 1-8.

In front of 588, conditions were difficult in the first half – though the Mallow pitch held up well, considering it had held a Dr Harty Cup tie earlier in the day. At times it was a free-taking contest between Cronin and Bennett, but Cork also had Luke O’Farrell doing well in attack and they were good value for their 0-11 to 0-8 half-time lead.

Damien Cahalane should have augmented that with a goal chance in the first minute of the second half and then Waterford looked set to make a game of it but Cork had the stronger legs in the last 25 minutes.

Bill Cooper and Shane McNulty James Crombie / INPHO Cork's Bill Cooper and Waterford's Shane McNulty James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Cronin 1-8 (0-6f, 0-1 65), William Leahy 1-1, Luke O’Farrell 0-3, Séamus Harnedy 0-2, Bill Cooper, Dean Brosnan, Stephen Moylan, Patrick O’Rourke 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Shane Bennett 0-6 (0-4f, 0-1 65), Tommy Waring, Tommy Ryan 0-2 each, Shane O’Sullivan, Mikey Kearney, Andy Molumby 0-1 each.

Kieran Kingston James Crombie / INPHO Cork hurling boss Kieran Kingston James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
4. Cian Buckley (Na Piarsaigh)

5. Patrick O’Mahony (Midleton)
18. Brian Moylan (Glen Rovers)
7. William Egan (Kilbrin)

8. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
9. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)

12. Pa Cronin (Bishopstown)
11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
10. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)

13. Patrick O’Rourke (Na Piarsiagh)
14. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
15. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)

19. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s) for O’Rourke (13-24, blood)
17. Patrick O’Sullivan (Carrigtwohill) for Buckley (48)
21. William Leahy (Aghada) for O’Farrell (54, injured)
Harnedy for Brosnan (61)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


1. Ian O’Regan (Mount Sion)

2. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
3. Shane Roche (Shamrocks)
4. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)

5. Paudie Prendergast (Lismore)
6. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)
7. Gavin O’Brien (Roanmore)

8. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
9. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)

12. Tommy Waring (Erin’s Own)
11. Shane O’Sullivan (Ballygunner)
20. Craig Guiry (Fourmilewater)

13. Tommy Ryan (Tallow)
14. Colm Roche (Shamrocks)
15. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)

21. Frank McGrath (Roanmore) for McNulty (35-half-time, blood)
McGrath for O’Brien (half-time)
24. Andy Molumby (Cappoquin) for Dunford (half-time)
25. Séamus Keating (Ardmore) for Guiry (half-time)
26. Seán Ryan (Fourmilewater) for Prendergast (half-time)
22. Harley Barnes (Ballygunner) for Shane Bennett (57)

Referee: Declan O’Driscoll (Limerick).

Kilkenny lose 2016 opener, Galway win again and Dr McKenna Cup reaches semi-finals

Two goals by Duggan helps Clare ease past Kerry to secure 25-point victory

Your Voice
Readers Comments