James Crombie/INPHO
Cork strike five goals as they win high-scoring hurling league clash against Waterford
Three late goals pushed Cork clear for victory.

Cork 5-22

Waterford 1-27

SIX GOALS AND 49 points amassed between the sides, a win for Cork as they attempt to take flight this year and enough battling qualities on display by Waterford to satisfy them.

On the opening hurling league weekend after a long winter shutdown, there was plenty for both camps to absorb after this clash.

Cork claimed the victory, reversing last year’s pattern where Waterford reigned in their meetings, and it was largely down to their capacity to hit the net.

They raised five green flags in total, the three between the 66th and 70th minutes proving the burst that settled this contest. Substitute Shane Kingston accelerated clear for one, Alan Connolly bagged a brace off the bench as Waterford’s defence was prised apart.

Waterford lost Calum Lyons to a red card in that passage of play for a strike on Kingston but still managed to hit 1-3 without reply to round off the afternoon. Stephen Bennett carried over his terrific form from last year with a haul of 1-12, again spearheading Waterford’s scoring charge. Austin Gleeson chipped in with 0-5 and Kieran Bennett launched over a trio of points.

The opening goal that arrived for Cork in the 20th minute went a good way to injecting their challenge with confidence and propelling them clear on the scoreboard. It was a splendid move as well with a chain of passes and runners involving Shane Barrett and Darragh Fitzgibbon, culminating in Robbie O’Flynn crashing home a goal.

By the break Patrick Horgan had chalked up 0-7 with his usual array of scores – frees nailed from distance, a pair of ’65s and a brilliant strike from play after only 15 seconds.

Cork were 1-12 to 0-8 to the good at the interval, spurred on by a second quarter where they outscored Waterford 1-6 to 0-4. They pushed on again after the break, Jack O’Connor drilling home a 43rd minute goal that swelled their advantage as they lead 2-15 to 0-10. League debutant Barrett had a productive outing and finished with 0-2 to his name.  

Yet whenever this game hinted at turning ugly for Waterford, they found a way to dig in and haul Cork back. That 11-point deficit was whittled away with a series of scores as the second half unfolded and when Gleeson fired over a 66th minute shot, they were only down by four. Then came the Cork goalscoring spree as Waterford rapidly fell 13 points adrift but again Liam Cahill saw his team plough away with that late scoring burst. 

It never threatened to turn into an improbable comeback though, Cork’s goals gave them a sufficient buffer. Victory on home soil will hearten them as they prepare for a trip to Thurles next Saturday night.

alan-connolly-celebrates-scoring-his-second-goal James Crombie / INPHO Alan Connolly celebrates scoring his second goal for Cork. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-12 (0-8f, 0-3 ’65), Alan Connolly 2-0, Robbie O’Flynn 1-1, Jack O’Connor, Shane Kingston 1-0 each, Darragh Fitzgibbon 0-3, Shane Barrett 0-2, Tim O’Mahony 0-2 (0-1f), Seamus Harnedy, Luke Meade 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Stephen Bennett 1-12 (0-7f, 0-1 ’65), Austin Gleeson 0-5, Kieran Bennett 0-3, Mikey Kearney 0-2, Jack Fagan, Patrick Curran, Shane McNulty, Mikey Kiely, Iarlaith Daly 0-1 each.


1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Niall O Leary (Castlelyons), 3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), 4. Sean O’Donoghue (Innscarra).

5. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum), 6. Mark Coleman (Blarney), 7. Niall Cashman (Blackrock).

8. Billy Hennessy (St Finbarr’s), 9. Daragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville).

10. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own), 11. Luke Meade (Newcestown), 12. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s).

13. Jack O’Connor (Sarfields), 14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers – captain), 15. Shane Barrett (Blarney).


22. Shane Kingston (Douglas) for Harnedy (54),

23. Alan Cadogan (Douglas) for O’Connor (54),

21. Daniel Meaney (Blackrock) for Hennessy (59),

25. Conor Cahalane (St Finbarr’s) for O’Flynn (65),

24. Alan Connolly (Blackrock) for Barrett (65),

20. James O’Flynn (Erins Own) for O’Mahony (71),

18. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers) for Cahalane (71).


1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)

2. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner), 3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside – captain), 4. Shane McNulty (De La Salle).

5. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank), 6. Iarlaith Daly (Lismore), 7. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart).

8. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan), 9. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower).

10. Jack Fagan (De La Salle), 11. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater), 12. Neil Montgomery (Abbeyside).

13. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart), 14. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion), 15. Colin Dunford (Colligan).


19. Billy Power (Clonea) for Montgomery (half-time),

20. Peter Hogan (Ballygunner) for O’Brien (46),

21. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper) for Dunford (46),

22. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan) for Conor Gleeson (54),

17. Shane Fives (Tourin) for Kenny (54),

26. Mikey Kiely (Abbeyside) for Fagan (65).

Referee: Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel