Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Saturday 23 January 2021

Cork overpower Waterford to book Munster intermediate final place

The teams clashed in Semple Stadium today.

Ed Finn and Martin F. OÕNeil Cork’s Ed Finn and Martin F. O’Neil of Waterford. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Cork 0-27
Waterford 1-16

Jackie Cahill reports from Semple Stadium

RONAN DWANE’S MUNSTER and All-Ireland intermediate hurling champions Cork had ten different scorers on target against Waterford in Thurles this afternoon.

The Rebels stormed into a provincial final with Tipperary or Limerick on 8 July but goalkeeper Paudgie Buckley performed heroics to keep Waterford at arm’s length.

The Mallow shotstopper pulled off three superb second half saves and was unlucky to concede to Owen Connors after half-time, when the Déise’s leading scorer found the net following a goalmouth scramble.

That strike brought Waterford back into contention after they had trailed by ten points at the break but five was as close as they got as Cork kept the scoreboard ticking over with regularity.

Despite having to field an entirely new team this year following last year’s All-Ireland win, Cork looked slick and well-drilled throughout.

Good support play and accurate long-range shooting were hallmarks of their play as Noel McNamara top scored with seven points, six of those from placed balls.

Cork had nine different scorers in the first half on their way to a big interval lead, 0-18 to 0-8. Willie Leahy led the way with three points, including two in a minute just before the break.

And it was the Rebels who created the best goal chance of the opening half, with full-forward Fintan O’Leary denied by Eddie Lynch in the fifth minute.

Cork roared into a 0-6 to 0-1 advantage with less than eight minutes on the watch but Waterford’s best spell of the game reduced the deficit to just two points, 0-5 to 0-7, by the 19th minute.

Pa Walsh picked off a couple of points from midfield in the first half for Waterford, with Tommy Waring doing likewise, but Jimmy Meaney’s men were otherwise struggling for attacking inspiration.

There were no such worries for Cork, playing with the aid of a breeze blowing towards the Town End.

Danny Flynn, Andrew Cagney, Michael Collins, O’Leary and Tony Murphy, the latter both former senior players, each collected a brace from play in the first half as Cork laid the foundations for victory.

Donnacha OÕDonovan and Thomas Connors Cork's Donnacha O'Donovan and Waterford's Thomas Connors. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Noel McNamara 0-7 (4f, 2 65s), Danny Flynn, Willie Leahy & Donncha O’Donovan (3f) 0-3 each, Andrew Cagney, Michael Collins, Fintan O’Leary, Tony Murphy & John Sheehan 0-2 each, Shane McCarthy 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford: Owen Connors 1-8 (0-8f), Tommy Waring 0-3, Pa Walsh 0-2, John Dee, Thomas Connors & Mark O’Brien 0-1 each.

Ronan Dwane Cork intermediate boss Ronan Dwane. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member


1. Paudgie Buckley (Mallow)

2. Barra Ó Tuama (Castlemartyr)
3. Ed Finn (Ballinhassig)
4. Greg Murphy (Newcestown)

5. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline) Capt.
6. Donnacha O’Donovan (Ballinhassig)
7. Tomas Lawerence (Brian Dillons)

8. Danny O’Flynn (Charleville)
9. Shane McCarthy (Ballinhassig)

10. Willie Leahy (Aghada)
11. Andrew Cagney (Charleville)
12. Michael Collins (Ballinhassig)

13. Noel McNamara (Kilworth)
14. Fintan O’Leary (Ballinhassig)
15. Tony Murphy (Carrigaline)

21. John Sheehan (Argideen Rangers) for Cagney (46)
23. Aaron Sheehan (Mallow) for Murphy (53)
18. Paudie Butler (Argideen Rangers) for Kavanagh (57)


1. Eddie Lynch (Passage)

21. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)
3. Jerome Maher (Geraldines)
2. Eoin Madigan (Roanmore)

5. John Dee (Mount Sion)
6. Killian Fitzgerald (Passage)
7. Eoin Madigan (De La Salle)

8. Harley Barnes (Ballygunner)
9. Pa Walsh (Passage)

10. Owen Connors (Passage)
11. Thomas Connors (Passage)
12. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank)

13. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)
14. Tommy Waring (Erin’s Own)
15. Martin F. O’Neill (Mount Sion).


20. Thomas Ryan (Tallow) for O’Brien (30+1)
19. Eamonn Dunphy (Dunhill) for Eoin Madigan (De La Salle) (37)
23. David Walsh (Ballygunner) for Barnes (49)

Referee: Damien Fox (Clare)

The 5 key factors that will decide Cork and Waterford’s Munster hurling clash

‘We have no choice, we have to get back up’ – Dublin boss on Tullamore shocker

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: