This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 23 April, 2019

Cork senior goalkeepers' brother in minor side as Waterford name three players from 2015 team

The Rebel County have named their side for Wednesday night’s game.

Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Updated 8.55am

GER COLLINS, BROTHER of Cork senior goalkeeper Patrick, has been named between the posts for the Rebel minor hurlers that face Waterford in their opening game in the Munster championship tomorrow night.

Collins follows in the footsteps of his brothers Patrick and Matthew who have also both previously been Cork minor hurling goalkeepers. Another brother Michael lined out for the Cork U21 hurlers in the 2014 Munster final loss to Clare.

Corner-forward Liam Healy is the only player from last year’s Cork side that lost out to Limerick in the Munster minor semi-final, who is named to start here. Castlelyons Niall O’Leary is the team captain.

Waterford have named three survivors in their team from the side that lost out to Tipperary at the playoff stage in the Munster minor hurling championship in 2015.

Goalkeeper Billy Nolan, defender Darragh McGrath and attacker Jack Prendergast are the players in question.

Their team will be captained by Ballygunner’s Michael Mahony.

The game takes place at 6.30pm in Walsh Park.


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Paul Lyons (Mallow)
3. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons) – Captain
4. Sean O’Leary Hayes (Midleton)

5. John Cooper (Eire Og)
6. Ryan Walsh (Cuchulann’s)
7. Eoghan Clifford (Cloughduv)

8. Cian O’Mahony (Ballinhassig)
9. Robbie Bourke (Ballincollig)

10. John Sullivan (Blackrock)
11. Matthew Bradley (Aghabullogue)
12. Stephen Condon (Harbour Rovers)

13. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Josh Beausang (St Colman’s)
15. Liam Healy (Sarsfield)


16. Barry Kenneally (Cuchulann’s)
17. Darragh Guiney (Shandrum)
18. Ross Howell (Douglas)
19. Jeremy Saich (Kilworth)
20. Kevin Murphy (Killeagh-Ita’s)
21. Danny Gunning (Na Piarsaigh)
22. Brian Buckley (Shandrum)
23. John Geary (Shandrum)
24. Brian Turnbull (Douglas)


1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)

2. Conor Giles Doran (De La Salle)
3. James Flavin (Ardmore)
4. Darragh McGrath (Abbeyside)

5. Donal Power (Passage)
6. Eoghan Murray (Ballyduff Upper)
7. Michael O’Brien (Ballinameela)

8. Eoin McGrath (Butlerstown)
9. Harry Ruddle Redmond (Ballygunner)

10. Jack Prendergast (Lismore)
11. Dylan Guiry (Fourmilewater)
12. Cathal Curran (Brickey Rangers)

13. Michael Mahony (Ballygunner) – Captain
14. Neil Montgomery (Abbeyside)
15. Thomas Douglas (De La Salle)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Ferguson reveals how David de Gea got Manchester United over Neuer>

Do you agree with our League of Ireland team of the week?>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next: