Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 5°C
Bryan Keane/INPHO
# Champions
Five-in-a-row! 14-man Corofin crowned kings of Galway against Mountbellew-Moylough
Corofin claimed their 19th Galway senior title in Tuam Stadium this afternoon.

Corofin 2-14

Mountbellew-Moylough 0-10

GOALS FROM CONOR Cunningham and Martin Farragher saw Corofin claim a 19th Galway senior title and a fifth in a row for the first time, as Mountbellew-Moylough hopes of glory fell asunder in the second half.

Corofin’s Cathal Silke was sent off in first-half added time, but Mountbellew-Moylough could not take advantage and after the champions hit two goals in the space of two minutes in the third quarter, it was an easy job to close out the game.

Mountbellew-Moylough got off to a slow start as they sought a first county title since 1986, and champions Corofin would have been thrilled to kick the first four points of the game.

Ronan Steede got Corofin off the mark before Michael Farragher added a second, while two Jason Leonard frees made it 0-4 to 0-0 after eight minutes.

Barry McHugh was excellent from placed balls for Mountbellew-Moylough, but he showed his class from open play with a fine point after 11 minute to get Mountbellew-Moylough off the mark and he added a free a minute later to put two between the sides.

All four Mountbellew-Moylough points before the break came from McHugh, but at the other end scores came easier to Corofin as Steede, Dylan Wall and Leonard landed points from play as they worked their way into a 0-8 to 0-4 half-time lead.

But just before the break Cathal Silke was sent off when he kicked out at Barry McHugh, which should have set up an exciting second half, but the procession that followed was a real disappointment.

Aaron McHugh was handed the extra man duties in a sweeping role in front of his full-back, Mountbellew-Moylough sought to settle into the second period, but instead it was Corofin that didn’t panic.

Frees from Leonard and Sice pushed them into a 0-10 to 0-4 lead, but in the 37th minute they took a huge step towards the win when Leonard passed over the top for corner-back Cunningham, who fired low to the net.

Bergin responded immediately for Mountbellew-Moylough with a battling score, but less than a minute later the ball was in the net at the other end when Martin Farragher found himself all alone and finished brilliantly.

Bergin became the second played to be sent off 13 minutes from time after a clash with Sice, while Martin Farragher’s point added to Mountbellew-Moylough’s woes and Corofin ran out easy winners.

Scorers for Corofin: Jason Leonard 0-6 (0-4f), Martin Farragher 1-1, Conor Cunningham 1-0, Gary Sice 0-2 (0-1f), Ronan Steede 0-2, Michael Farragher 0-1, Dylan Wall 0-1, Ian Burke 0-1.

Scorers for Mountbellew-Moylough: Barry McHugh 0-6 (0-4f), Paul Donnellan 0-2, Joe Bergin 0-1, E Finnerty 0-1.


1. Bernard Power

6. Ciaran McGrath
3. Kieran Fitzgerald
2. Cathal Silke

11. Dylan Wall
5. Kieran Molloy
7. Liam Silke

8. Michael Farragher
9. Ronan Steede

4. Conor Cunningham
12. Jason Leonard
10. Gary Sice

18. Martin Farragher
13. Ian Burke
15. Micheal Lundy


22. Dylan McHugh for Cunningham (45)
26. Daithi Burke for Molloy (47)
14. Justin Burke for L Silke (50)
21. Colin Brady for McGrath (57)
20. Barry O Donovan for Wall (62)
19. Kevin Murphy for Leonard (63).


1. Brian Donnellan

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

5. Aaron McHugh
3. Shane Moran
2. Mark Mannion

8. Cathal Kenny
6. John Daly
4. Colin Murray

18. Eoin Finnerty
9. Joe Bergin

10. Stephen Boyle
11. Michael Daly
7. Paul Donnellan

13. Colm Mannion
14. Barry McHugh
12. Noel McDonagh


15. Ger Donaghue for S Boyle (34)
22. Matthew Barrett for McDonagh (41)
17. Alan Sweeney for J Daly (52)
21. Cathal Duffy for Murray (62)
19. Joe Meehan for C Mannion (62)

Referee: Muiris Mac Gearailt (Micheal Breathnach).

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel