Dublin: 15°C Saturday 20 August 2022

Galway's Corofin win back All-Ireland senior club football crown after 17 years

The North Galway club saw off Derry’s Slaughtneil this afternoon.

Corofin's players celebrate their victory today.
Corofin's players celebrate their victory today.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Corofin 1-14
Slaughtneil 0-7

COROFIN LIFTED THE AIB All-Ireland senior club football title for the second time this afternoon in Croke Park and they did it in style with a comfortable win over Derry’s Slaughtneil.

The North Galway club triumphed back in 1998 but have been thwarted in their recent efforts to add a second title as they lost All-Ireland semi-final ties in 2009 and 2010.

But after a sublime display saw them topple 2014 champions St Vincent’s at the semi-final stage last month in Tullamore, they didn’t falter at the final hurdle today as they ran out ten-point winners.

Micheál Lundy showcased his attacking skills as he won the man-of-the-match award, Gary Sice contributed 0-5 while Martin Farragher grabbed the only goal of the game in the first-half which transpired to be a crucial strike. All of Corofin’s starting forwards scored and it represented a continuation of the scintillating attacking play that had propelled them to this stage.

Michael Farragher celebrates with supporters Corofin captain Michael Farragher celebrates with supporters. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Manager Stephen Rochford could savour Corofin’s win. He won an All-Ireland title with his native Mayo club Crossmolina in 2001 and has now achieved the same feat as a manager. Veteran defender Kieran Fitzgerald celebrated an All-Ireland win with his club 14 years after achieving the same feat with his county in Croke Park.

Kieran Fitzgerald and Martin Farragher celebrate at the end of the game Corofin's Kieran Fitzgerald and Martin Farragher celebrate their victory. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

It was a desperately disappointing occasion for Slaughtneil. They were battle-hardened after triumphing in Ulster before a spirited display saw them prevail in a tense encounter with Kerry’s Austin Stacks at the semi-final stage. They made a historic first appearance today on the St Patrick’s Day stage but they never got a grip on this contest.

A dejected Cormac O'Doherty after the game Dejected Slaughtneil players after the game. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Corofin controlled the game with Lundy orchestrating matters as they went 0-4 to 0-2 clear after the opening quarter. Lundy had kicked three of those points but it was Gary Sice who set up Martin Farragher for the crucial goal in the 17th minute.

Corofin kicked on from there and had sailed 1-8 to 0-3 clear by the interval. They had a great chance to kill off the match just before the break but Farragher was foiled in his attempt for a second goal by goalkeeper Antoin McMullan.

By the 38th minute Corofin had stretched their lead to 1-10 to 0-4 but Slaughtneil to their credit tried to battle back. Gerald Bradley kicked some nice points but they weren’t making any major headway as they still trailed by eight points with eight minutes left.

Corofin added two more late points through Sice and substitute Joe Canney before Slaughtneil’s day was compounded when Cormac O’Doherty drove an injury-time penalty wide after he was fouled himself by Corofin’s Tom Healy.

Gary Delaney and Kieran Fitzgerald celebrate at the final whistle Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Scorers for Corofin: Gary Sice 0-5 (0-4f), Martin Farragher 1-0, Micheál Lundy 0-3, Liam Silke (0-1f), Ronan Steede, Gary Delaney, Michael Farragher, Ian Burke, Joe Canney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Slaughtneil: Gerald Bradley 0-3, Chrissy McKaigue, Padraig Kelly (0-1f), Christopher Bradley (0-1f), Paul Bradley (0-1f) 0-1 each.

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member


1. Tom Healy

2. Ciaran McGrath
3. Kieran Fitzgerald
4. Cathal Silke

5. Greg Higgins
6. Alan Burke
7. Liam Silke

8. Daithi Burke
9. Ronan Steede

10. Gary Sice
11. Michael Farragher
12. Gary Delaney

13. Martin Farragher
14. Micheal Lundy
15. Ian Burke

Dylan Wall for Martin Farragher (49)
Justin Burke for Steede (55)
Michael Comer for Silke (55)
Conor Cunningham for Higgins (55)
Kevin Murphy for Delaney (57)
Joe Canney for Ian Burke (57)


1. Antoin McMullan

2. Francis McEldowney
3. Brendan Rodgers
4. Karl McKaigue

5. Conan Cassidy
6. Chrissy McKaigue
7. Barry McGuigan

8. Patsy Bradley
9. Paudie McGuigan

10. Padraig Kelly
11. Christopher Bradley
12. Ronan Bradley

13. Gerald Bradley
14. Paul Bradley
15. Cormac O’Doherty

Paul McNeill for Cassidy (43)
Se McGuigan for Kelly (43)
Padraig Cassidy for Ronan Bradley (43)
Peadar Kearney on for Barry McGuigan (57)

Referee: David Coldrick (Meath)

Ballyhale are Kings of Croke Park again as Shefflin savours a third club championship

St Pat’s Cavan set up Hogan Cup semi-final against Kerry’s PS Chorca Dhuibhne

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: