Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Sunday 9 May 2021

County Hurling Final Previews

Here’s a look ahead to some of the key hurling deciders in Munster and Leinster this weekend.

Drom-Inch are hoping to retain their Tipperary SHC title on Sunday.
Drom-Inch are hoping to retain their Tipperary SHC title on Sunday.
Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Dublin SHC final
Cuala v Kilmacud Crokes
Parnell Park, 3.30pm
Kilmacud Crokes go in search of their first county senior hurling title since 1985 and will aim to atone for their decider defeat in 2008.

County stars Niall Corcoran and Ryan O’Dwyer will lead their charge for success while the O’Carroll brothers – Ross, Rory and Bill – are also set to be in action.

Cuala are hoping to win their first title since 1994 and have plenty of talent to call upon in Oisin and Conor Gough, Mark and Paul Schutte, and David Treacy.

Verdict: Kilmacud Crooks

Laois SHC final
Clough-Ballacolla v Rathdowney-Errill, O’Moore Park, 3.45pm
Clough-Ballacolla endured a 91-year drought without a title before claiming success in the 2009 final and they went on to retain the championship last year.

Willie Hyland is their star turn and they will need his influence against a Rathdowney-Errill side who won crowns in 2006, 2008 and 2010.

Verdict: Clough-Ballacolla

Tipperary SHC final
Drom-Inch v Thurles Sarsfields, Semple Stadium, 3.30pm
This tie is a repeat of the 2005 and 2009 deciders, both of which were won by Thurles Sarsfields. Drom-Inch did bounce back though last year to finally win their first title against Clonoulty-Rossmore.

The mid divisional rivals have impressed in this year’s championship. With Seamus Callanan in magnificent form, Drom-Inch got the better of Loughmore-Castleiney in last Sunday’s semi-final with David Butler, James Woodlock and Johnny Ryan also vital to their chances of success.

Thurles Sarsfields proved too strong for Éire Óg-Annacarty in their semi-final with Lar Corbett, Johnny Enright, Padraic Maher, Michael Cahill and Pa Bourke all ensuring they possess a strong side.

Verdict: Thurles Sarsfields

Waterford SHC final
De La Salle v Dungarvan, Fraher Field, 3.30pm
De La Salle are in pursuit of their third title in five years here after claiming triumphs in 2008 and 2010. They got the better of city rivals Mount Sion at the last four stage to reach the decider. John Mullane, Kevin Moran, Dean Twomey and Jake Dillon will be at the forefront of their efforts to acquire silverware.

In contrast opponents Dungarvan are involved in their first decider since 1951. Jamie Nagle is their best-known player after being part of the Waterford squad in recent years but Cormac and Cathal Curran, and Jamie Nagle are also key presences in their squad.

Verdict: De La Salle

Wexford SHC final
Oulart-the-Ballagh v Faythe Harriers, Wexford Park, 3.15pm
Oulart-the-Ballagh, defeated in last year’s Leinster club final, are going for their fourth successive county title.  They have plenty of experience with Keith Rossiter, David Redmond, Rory Jacob, Eoin Moore, Darren Stamp and Paul Roche in their ranks.

Faythe Harriers were last triumphant in 2001 with Richie Kehoe their star turn and young attacker Rhys Clarke also a vital presence.

Verdict: Oulart-the-Ballagh

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel