This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 22 February, 2019

Two Comer goals spur Galway on to FBD league final win over Roscommon

Tuam Stadium was the venue for today’s clash.

Roscommon's Cian Connolly and Cathal McHugh collide with Galway's Eoghan Kerin.
Roscommon's Cian Connolly and Cathal McHugh collide with Galway's Eoghan Kerin.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Galway 2-8
Roscommon 0-13

John Fallon reports from Tuam Stadium

GALWAY CAPTURED THEIR sixth FBD League title and first since 2009 when they dethroned Roscommon in an entertaining clash at Tuam Stadium today.

Roscommon had chances to salvage a draw in the dying moments but were unable to force extra-time, having been blitzed with a couple of goals early in the match.

Galway made a blistering start against the wind with Damien Comer rocking Roscommon with two goals in the opening five minutes.

The first came after just 13 seconds when Comer got a fist to a long free from Fiontain O Curraoin.

And after Johnny Heaney for Galway and Roscommon’s Senan Kilbride exchanged points, Comer repeated the dose, this time connecting to a delivery from Eamon Brannigan to again fist the ball to the net.

The remainder of the opening half proved to be an even affair with the goals helping the Tribesmen lead by 2-5 to 0-6 at the interval.

Roscommon settled with Senan Kilbride picking off a couple of good points, while it took a good save from Thomas Dolan to deny Cathal McHugh with a fisted goal effort just before the break.

Gary OÕDonnell and Adrian Varley lift the cup Galway's Gary O'Donnell and Adrian Varley got their hands on silverware Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Roscommon made a very good start to the second-half against the breeze with Cian Connolly pointing a free and then landing one from play.

Galway failed to score in the third quarter and two frees from Ciaran Murtagh cut the gap to the minimum at 2-5 to 0-10 with 14 minutes left.

Roscommon goalkeeper Geoffrey Claffey did well to save from Eamon Brannigan, turning the ball around his right post for a 45 which Comer sent wide.

Adrian Varley finally ended Galway’s scoring famine when he kicked his third point of the match with eleven minutes left to put them two in front.

Murtagh cut that back to one eight minutes from the end with another free before Connolly levelled the match just over a minute later with another close range free.

Then Galway wing-back Johnny Heaney got forward to shoot his second point and edge the Tribesmen in front before Shane Walsh then doubled the lead with a free.

Roscommon captain Niall Daly cut the gap with three minutes left but they were unable to get level and Galway held on to take the title.

Thomas Flynn Galway's Thomas Flynn reacts to a missed goal scoring chance at Tuam Stadium Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Scorers for Galway: Damien Comer 2-1; Adrian Varley 0-3; Johnny Heaney 0-2; Shane Walsh 0-1 (0-1f), Tom Flynn 0-1.

Scorers for Roscommon: Ciaran Murtagh (0-4f), Cian Connolly (0-2f) 0-4 each; Senan Kilbride 0-2; Kieran Kilcline, Scott Oates, Niall Daly 0-1 each.


1. Thomas Dolan (Athenry)

2. David Wynne (Moycullen)
3. Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
4. Eoghan Kerin (Annaghdown)

21. Liam Silke (Corofin)
6. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)
7. Johnny Heaney (Killannin)

8. Paul Conroy (St James’)
23. Fiontain O Curraoin (Micheal Breathnach)

9. Tom Flynn (Athenry)
11. Eddie Hoare (St Michael’s)
10. Enda Tierney (Oughterard)

13. Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
14. Adrian Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks)
12. Eamon Brannigan (St Michael’s)

26. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin-Clonberne) for Hoare (48)
25. Paul Mannion (Kilconly) for Brannigan (59)


16. Geoffrey Claffey (Castlerea St Kevin’s)

2. Ronan Stack (St Brigid’s)
3. Tom Featherston (Oran)
4. Neil Collins (Castlerea St Kevin’s)

5. Brian Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
6. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
7. Ronan Daly (Padraig Pearses)

8. Enda Smith (Boyle)
9. Cathal Shine (Clann na nGael)

10. Scott Oates (Roscommon Gaels)
11. Kieran Kilcline (Roscommon Gaels)
12. Ciaran Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)

13. Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels)
14. Senan Kilbride (St Brigid’s)
15. Cathal McHugh (St Brigid’s)

18. Sean McDermott (Western Gaels) for Collins (half-time)
23. Niall Kilroy (Fuerty) for Kilcline (39)
30. Ultan Harney (Clann na nGael) for Oates (43)
27. Fintan Kelly (Castlerea St Kevin’s) for Shine (46)
17. Fintan Cregg (Elphin) for Murtagh (54)

Referee: Declan Corcoran (Mayo).

Kingston unveils 30-man Cork hurling squad for league campaign

Tyrone secure Dr McKenna Cup 5-in-a-row after extra-time triumph

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

John Fallon

Read next: