Dublin: 13°C Tuesday 28 June 2022

Dave Kearney returns as Leinster name team to face Edinburgh

Meanwhile, Nick McCarthy makes his first start since returning from Munster in the summer.

Dave Kearney pictured at training.
Dave Kearney pictured at training.
Image: Ben Brady/INPHO

DAVE KEARNEY is set to make his return as Leinster face Edinburgh at the RDS Arena on Friday (KO: 6pm – LIVE on RTÉ 2 and Premier Sports).

The 32-year-old Louth native will start on the left-wing, in what will be his 170th appearance for the province and first of the season.

Jamie Osborne and Tommy O’Brien complete the back three, while Nick McCarthy makes his first start since returning from Munster in the summer, joining Ross Byrne in the half-backs.

Ciarán Frawley and Rory O’Loughlin also start, while there are four changes in the pack to the team that started the recent loss to Cardiff.

James Tracy comes in for Seán Cronin in the front row, while Ed Byrne and Michael Ala’alatoa retain their places either side of him.

Ross Molony and Josh Murphy continue in the second row while Max Deegan gets a chance in the back row.

Scott Penny switches to openside, while Rhys Ruddock completes the forward line and will captain the side.

Seán Cronin, Peter Dooley, Vakh Abdaladze, Devin Toner, Martin Moloney, Luke McGrath, Harry Byrne and Rob Russell are named among the substitutes.

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

Leinster (v Edinburgh) 

  • 15. Jamie Osborne
  • 14. Tommy O’Brien
  • 13. Rory O’Loughlin
  • 12. Ciarán Frawley
  • 11. Dave Kearney
  • 10. Ross Byrne
  • 9. Nick McCarthy
  • 1. Ed Byrne
  • 2. James Tracy
  • 3. Michael Ala’alatoa
  • 4. Ross Molony
  • 5. Josh Murphy
  • 6. Rhys Ruddock (captain)
  • 7. Scott Penny
  • 8. Max Deegan


  • 16. Seán Cronin
  • 17. Peter Dooley
  • 18. Vakh Abdaladze
  • 19. Devin Toner
  • 20. Martin Moloney
  • 21. Luke McGrath
  • 22. Harry Byrne
  • 23. Rob Russell

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel