The Clifford show as Kerry hit 6 goals in All-Ireland minor final win over Derry

4-4 for David Clifford and 2-0 for Fiachra Clifford today.

Conor McCluskey and David Clifford Kerry's David Clifford sparkled in Croke Park. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kerry 6-17
Derry 1-8

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

MANY WATCHING IN attendance for today’s minor final in Croke Park or tuning in on television would have been focusing on the performance of David Clifford.

The Kerry captain arrived in September with plenty expectation surrounding him after a couple of stunning seasons at this grade.

And the Fossa teenager did not disappoint with a remarkable display of shooting as he bagged 4-4 from play as Kerry blitzed Derry by 24 points to complete a four-in-a-row of All-Ireland crowns at this grade.

David Clifford was the star of the show but he was well supported by Fiachra Clifford who supplied two superb goals, while Dónal O’Sullivan, Brian Friel and Jack Griffin all popped up with well-taken points.

Fiachra Clifford celebrates scoring their third goal Fiachra Clifford celebrates his first goal for Kerry. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kerry’s defence shipped four points in the opening stages but were generally excellent in restricting Derry’s attack as Peter Keane watched his charges cruise to victory.

Clifford set the tone for his day of destruction early on. Just 10 seconds had elapsed when he planted the ball in the net with his left foot. Derry steadied themselves after that shock with Mark McGrogan sweeping over some lovely points.

They trailed 1-2 to 0-4 after 12 minutes and were back in contention but their policy of leaving Clifford with only one defender to mark would soon backfire. The Kerry captain weaved his way through the defence to net with his right foot in the 14th minute later and soon after cut apart the Derry defence with a pass for Fiachra Clifford to bag the third goal.

By half-time Kerry were 3-8 to 0-5 clear and essentially had the game wrapped up. Fiachra Clifford notched his second goal soon after half-time before Derry had cause to cheer when Patrick Quigg converted a penalty after impressive substitute Callum Brown was fouled.

But Kerry would cause them more suffering before the finish. Clifford netted twice in quick succession around the three-quarter mark, his mixture of strength, class and skill too much for the Derry defence to handle.

This was a day for Kerry to savour as they proved their production line is in perfect working order.

Scorers for Kerry: David Clifford 4-4, Fiachra Clifford 2-0, Brian Friel 0-4 (0-1f), Dónal O’Sullivan 0-3, Jack Griffin 0-2, Adam Donoghue, Donnchadh O’Sullivan, Eddie Horan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Derry: Patrick Quigg 1-1 (1-0 pen), Lorcan McWilliams (0-1f), Mark McGrogan, Oisin McWilliams 0-2 each, Richie Mullan 0-1.


1. Deividas Uosis (Dingle)

2. Sean O’Leary (Kilcummin)
3. Chris O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
4. Cian Gammell (Killarney Legion)

5. Patrick Warren (Gneeveguilla)
6. Michael Potts (Dr Crokes)
7. Niall Donohue (Firies)

8. Barry Mahony (St Senans)
9. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)

10. Adam Donoghue (Castleisland Desmonds)
11. David Clifford (Fossa – captain)
12. Donal O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan)

13. Fiáchra Clifford (Laune Rangers)
14. Jack Griffin (Dr Crokes)
15. Brian Friel (Rathmore)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


18. Eddie Horan (Scartaglen) for Griffin (45)
17. Donnchadh O’Sullivan (Firies) for O’Sullivan (50)
19. Ciarán O’Reilly (Austin Stacks) for Fiachra Clifford (52)
22. Michael O’Leary (Renard) for Gammell (58)
20. Ryan O’Neill (Na Gaeil) for Donohue (58)
21. Michael Slattery (Austin Stacks) for Donoghue (60)


1. Oran Hartin (Limavady)

2. Oran McGill (Glen)
3. Conor McCluskey (Magherafelt)
4. Sean McKeever (Dungiven)

5. Simon McErlain (Magherafelt)
6. Padraig McGrogan (Newbridge)
7. Conleth McShane (Bellaghy)

8. Oisin McWilliams (Swatragh)
9. Dara Rafferty (Drumsurn)

10. Paddy Quigg (Kilrea)
11. Richie Mullan (Dungiven)
12. Odhran Quinn (Bellaghy)

13. Ben McCarron (Steelstown)
14. Lorcan McWilliams (Swatragh)
15. Mark McGrogan (Newbridge)


17. Callum Brown (Limavady) for Rafferty (half-time)
18. Declan Cassidy (Bellaghy) for McCluskey (half-time)
22. Conor Quinn (Bellaghy) for McCarron (half-time)
23. Odhran Quinn (Bellaghy) for McShane (39)
20. Tiarnan McHugh (Drum) for Mullane (42)
19. Jon Paul Devlin (Ballinascreen) for McGrogan (42)

Referee: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow)

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel