Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
Tommy Greally/INPHO
# Young Guns
AFL trialist leads Kerry minor attack in a team featuring four recent Hogan Cup winners
Starlet David Clifford is one of the most exciting talents to emerge from the county in recent years.

THE KERRY MINOR team to take on Clare in their Electric Ireland Munster championship opener tomorrow night shows four survivors from last September’s All-Ireland triumph.

Michael Potts, Diarmuid O’Connor, Brian Friel and highly-rated prospect David Clifford all played key roles last year and the Kingdom will look to their experience for the clash at Austin Stack Park.

The team for the quarter-final also includes four members of the St Brendan’s College Hogan Cup winning side earlier this month.

Potts, along with Chris O’Donoghue, Sean O’Leary and Donnchadh O’Sullivan were part of the team that retained the post primary schools competition at Croke Park.

Tralee IT student Clifford, who has taken part in AFL trials in the past, captains the side from full-forward.

Kerry (vs Clare)

1. Deividas Uosis (Dingle)

2. Ryan O’Neill (Na Gaeil)
3. Chris O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
4. Sean O’Leary (Kilcummin)

5. Michael Potts (Dr Crokes)
6. Eddie Horan (Scartaglen)
7. Patrick Warren (Gneeveguilla)

8. Barry Mahony (St Senans)
9. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)

10. Adam Donoghue (Castleisland Desmonds)
11. Brian Friel (Rathmore)
12. Fiáchra Clifford (Laune Rangers)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

13. Donchadh O’Sullivan (Firies)
14. David Clifford (Fossa)
15. Donal O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan)

16. Nelu O’Doherty (Dr Crokes)
17. Ciarán O’Reilly (Austin Stacks)
18. Niall Donohue (Firies)
19 .Michael Slattery (Austin Stacks)
20. Michael O’Leary (Renard)
21. Jack Griffin (Dr Crokes)
22. Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks)
23. Cathal Ferriter (Annascaul)
24. Mark Ashe (Dingle)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Donegal to face Dublin after being crowned Ulster U21 champions with win over Derry

‘The principles are the same’: Former Mayo boss Horan off to a winning start in club hurling

Your Voice
Readers Comments