Cooking up a storm! David Gillick to compete at European Championships 4 years after retiring

The 400m runner will make his international comeback next month.

Gillick came out of retirement earlier this year.
Gillick came out of retirement earlier this year.

FOUR YEARS AFTER retiring due to injury, David Gillick has been named in Ireland’s team for the upcoming European Championships in Amsterdam.

The former two-time European indoor champion has been rolling back the years recently and was this afternoon included in an Irish squad of 52 athletes for next month.

Gillick finished third in the 400m at the National Championships over the weekend and has worked his way back to peak form having come out of retirement earlier this year.

He’s adopted a ‘one race at a time’ approach and will now pull on the green vest again in both the 400m and men’s 4x400m relay in the Dutch capital between 6-10 July.

Gillick is part of an incredibly strong Irish team with Olympic hopefuls Thomas Barr, Fionnuala McCormack and Ciara Mageean all using the meet as another stepping stone on the road to Rio.

Brian Gregan Gillick finished third in Santry yesterday. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Mark English has, however, opted not to compete after just returning from an ankle injury. The UCD student won his fourth 800m national title at Morton Stadium but will instead continue to train at home.

“I’m very pleased to have selected such a large squad of athletes,” Athletics Ireland High Performance Director, Kevin Ankrom, said.

“We’ve had some injuries with athletes pushing the boat out to reach new levels but they are now coming around. Our best chance of a medal may lie in the men’s half marathon team while we have a good blend of developing athletes and experience.”

Ireland team for 2016 European Athletics Championships:

  • Amy Foster (City of Lisburn) 100m
  • Marcus Lawler (St Laurence O’Toole) 200m
  • Claire Mooney (Naas) 400m
  • Sinead Denny (DSD) 400m
  • Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers) 400m
  • Craig Lynch (Shercock) 400m
  • David Gillick (DSD) 400m
  • Richard Morrissey (Crusaders) 400m
  • Siofra Cleirigh Buttner (DSD) 800m
  • Karl Griffin (UCD) 800m
  • Declan Murray (Clonliffe Harriers) 800m
  • Ciara Mageean (UCD) 1500m

Announcement of the 2016 European Track & Field Championships Team Some of the athletes at this morning's team announcement. Source: Sam Barnes/SPORTSFILE

  • Claire Tarplee (St Coca’s) 1500m
  • Eoin Everard (Kilkenny City Harriers) 1500m
  • Kevin Batt (DSD) 5,000m
  • Mary Cullen (North Sligo) 5,000m
  • Deirdre Byrne (Sli Cualann) 5,000m
  • Fionnuala McCormack (Kilcoole) 10,000m
  • Tara Jameson (Sli Cualann) 10,000m
  • Michelle Finn (Leevale) 3,000m steeplechase
  • Kerry O’Flaherty (Newcastle) 3,000m steeplechase
  • Sara Treacy (Dunboyne) 3,000m steeplechase
  • Tomas Cotter (Dunleer) 3,000m steeplechase
  • Ben Reynolds (North Down) 110m Hurdles
  • Christine McMahon (Ballymena & Antrim) 400m Hurdles
  • Paul Byrne (St Abban’s) 400m Hurdles
  • Thomas Barr (Ferrybank) 400m Hurdles
  • Barry Pender (St Abban’s) High Jump
  • Tori Pena (Finn Valley) Pole Vault

Women’s 4x100m relay: Catherine McManus (DCH), Joan Healy (Bandon), Niamh Whelan (Ferrybank), Phil Healy (Bandon), Sarah Murray (Fingallians)

Men’s 4x100m relay: Craig Lynch (Shercock), Eanna Madden (Carrick on Shannon), Jason Smyth (City of Derry), Jonathan Browning (Ballymena & Antrim), Joseph Owejumi (Tallaght), Marcus Lawler (SLOT)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Women’s 4x400m relay: Christine McMahon (Ballymena & Antrim), Ciara McCallion (Clonliffe Harriers), Claire Mooney (Naas), Jenna Bromell (Emerald), Phil Healy (Bandon), Sinead Denny (DSD)

Men’s 4x400m relay: Thomas Barr (Ferrybank), Andrew Mellon (North Down, Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers), Craig Lynch (Shercock), David Gillick (DSD), Richard Morrissey (Crusaders)

Women’s Half Marathon: Breege Connolly (North Belfast Harriers), Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers, Maria McCambridge (Dundrum South Dublin), Claire McCarthy (Leevale)

Men’s Half Marathon: Sergiu Ciobanu (Clonliffe Harriers), Mick Clohisey               (Raheny Shamrock), Mark Hanrahan (Leevale), Gary Murray (Clonliffe Harriers), Paul Pollock (Annadale Striders), Kevin Seaward (St Malachys)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

The disappearance of ‘The Ghost’, the first Irish winner of the Wimbledon men’s singles title

‘I want to play, I don’t know if I will’ – Tiger casts fresh doubts over future

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: