Tipp's Darcy hits 0-15 yet Dublin's Burke inspires DCU to victory over UL

A three-point success for the home side in today’s game.

Cian Darcy impressed for UL today.
Cian Darcy impressed for UL today.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

DCU 0-21
UL 0-18

Daire Walsh reports from DCU Sportsground

DONAL BURKE RECORDED 0-13 against University of Limerick at St Clare’s to give DCU a perfect start to their Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup Group A campaign.

Despite the best efforts of Cian Darcy and Kyle Hayes for their opponents, the Dublin college are on the brink of reaching the knockout stages ahead of next week’s trip to Maynooth University.

Source: HE GAA/YouTube

With Darcy and Limerick attacker Hayes in fine form, six-time champions UL moved three points clear on 11 minutes. However, the longer the contest progressed, the more confident the hosts became.

Full-forward Burke ended the opening period with 0-6 to his name and it was his stoppage-time free that edged DCU in front at the break (0-9 to 0-8). The elusive Darcy – who amassed an astonishing final haul of 15 points – swiftly restored parity on the restart and there was little to separate the sides throughout the third-quarter.

Yet, unanswered points courtesy of Burke (two), Fergal Whitely and Kilkenny star John Donnelly subsequently provided DCU with significant breathing space. Darcy continued to lead the charge for UL, but they ultimately couldn’t rein in the Metropolitan challenge.

Half-back Brian Ryan added his second point of the game on 59 minutes before an outstanding Burke effort on the right-wing finally sealed a deserved triumph for DCU.

Scorers for DCU: Donal Burke 0-13 (11f), Brian Ryan, Fergal Whitely 0-2 each, Damien Reck, Conor Firman, John Donnelly, Rory O’Connor 0-1 each.

Scorers for University of Limerick: Cian Darcy 0-15 (10f), Kyle Hayes 0-2, Ross Hayes 0-1.


1. Oisin Foley (Crossabeg/Ballymurn, Wexford)

2. Lee Gannon (Whitehall Colmcille, Dublin)
3. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf, Dublin)
4. John Curran (Dungarvan, Waterford)

5. Brian Ryan (South Liberties, Limerick)
6. Conor Burke (St Vincent’s, Dublin)
7. Daire Grey (Whitehall Colmcille, Dublin)

8. Damien Reck (Oylegate-Glenbrien, Wexford)
9. Conor Firman (St Martin’s, Wexford)

12. John Donnelly (Thomastown, Kilkenny)
11. Rory O’Connor (St Martin’s, Wexford)
10. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)

13. Conor Hearne (Shelmaliers, Wexford)
14. James Burke (Naas, Kildare)
15. Donal Burke (Na Fianna, Dublin)


25. Colum Prendiville (Graigue-Ballycallan, Kilkenny) for Hearne (48)
23. Jim Ryan (Kilkenny) for Reck (56)
29. Jesse Roberts (Kilkenny) for Firman (62)
27. Diarmuid O’Brien (Galway) for J Burke (62)

University of Limerick

1. Barry Hogan (Kiladangan, Tipperary)

2. Conor O’Callaghan (Dromtariffe, Cork)
6. Michael Carey (Young Irelands, Kilkenny)
4. Eddie Gunning (Na Piarsaigh, Cork)

5. Padraic Campion (Drom-Inch, Tipperary)
12. Bryan O’Mara (Holycross-Ballycahill, Tipperary)
7. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

3. Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney, Tipperary)
8. Jack Shelly (Mullinahone, Tipperary)

21. Ross Hayes (Crusheen, Clare)
11. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry, Limerick)
14. Padraic O’Loughlin (Clonlara, Clare)

13. Rian Considine (Cratloe, Clare)
20. Cian Darcy (Kiruane MacDonaghs, Tipperary)
15. Billy Power (Clonea, Waterford)


28. Killian McDermott (Clarecastle, Clare) for McGrath (40)
23. Shane Neville (Lattin-Cullen, Tipperary) for Power (45)
19. Kevin McDonald (Mount Leinster Rangers, Carlow) for Lynch (52)
22. Jack Kenny (Galway) for Considine (55)
26. Oisin Flannery (Padraig Pearses, Galway) for R Hayes (55)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

An earlier version of this article incorrectly stated it was James Burke who scored 0-13 for DCU, that should have read Donal Burke.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel