This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Saturday 19 October, 2019

Another 3-time All-Ireland winner with Tyrone has retired

Sean Cavanagh is now the only survivor from the 2003 team.

Carlin won four Ulster championships with Tyrone.
Carlin won four Ulster championships with Tyrone.
Image: Andrew Paton/INPHO

DERMOT CARLIN HAS retired from intercounty football following a 13-year career with the Tyrone senior panel.

Carlin was a member of the 2003, 2005 and 2008 sides that tasted All-Ireland glory with the Red Hands, but a series of injuries in recent seasons left him on the periphery of the Tyrone squad this year.

The Killyclogher defender didn’t feature in last Sunday’s qualifier win over Limerick or Tyrone’s opening championship game against Donegal back in May.

Incredibly, Carlin won his three All-Ireland titles without ever featuring in an All-Ireland final, remaining an unused substitute during all three games. He became a more important figure in recent years though, as retirements meant he was instilled as one of the more senior members of the squad.

Carlin joins Stephen O’Neill, Conor Gormley and Martin Penrose in retirement, with all three hanging up their boots following last summer’s championship.

Sean Cavanagh is now the only surviving player from the 2003 panel left on the current Tyrone team.

Kildare shook by the loss of 2 more players who are leaving for the States

6 players to watch in Cork and Limerick’s Munster minor hurling semi-final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: