This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 2 April, 2020

Cavan forward bags two goals as DIT easily account for Clifford-less IT Tralee

Enda Flanagan scored 2-1 for DIT as they advanced to the Sigerson Cup semi-finals.

Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Dublin Institute of Technology 3-17

Institute of Technology Tralee 1-7

Jason O’Connor reports from Austin Stack Park

WITHOUT DAVID CLIFFORD, IT Tralee were given a bit of a pasting on home turf in tonight’s Sigerson Cup quarter-final against Dublin IT as the visitors powered through for an eventual 16-point victory.

Clifford’s injury — sustained with Kerry in the league game with Mayo on Saturday — evening prevented him from featuring and his loss was felt on the night as two Enda Flanagan goals on the 25-minute mark swung the game in DIT’s favour.

DIT led by 10 points at half-time, registering the first three scores, although they adopted a very defensive set-up in the opening quarter before David Spillane put IT Tralee on the scoreboard for the first time in the ninth minute.

Sean Cournane had drawn a great save from DIT goalkeeper Lee Stacey in the sixth minute but when Paul Clarke put them 0-5 to 0-3 behind after 22 minutes they appeared to be well in contention. Flanagan’s goals changed matters however as the visitors took in a lead of 2-7 to 0-3.

Only for two fine saves from IT Tralee goalkeeper Conor Hurley along with the crossbar, the winning margin would have been more for DIT as their third goal from defender Andrew McGowan in the 55th minute put them 3-15 to 0-6 in front.

Despite substitute Daniel O’Keeffe scoring a consolation goal three minutes later for the hosts, they were well beaten at the end of a processional second-half as DIT march on to the semi-finals.

Scorers DIT - Enda Flanagan (2-1), Shane Dempsey (0-5), Andrew McGowan (1-1), Seán Hurley (0-3, 0-2f), Glenn O’Reilly and Caoimhín O’Reilly (0-2 each), Tomas Corcoran, Conor Howley and Conor Loftus (0-1 each).

Scorers for ITT - Daniel O’Keeffe (1-1, 0-1f), Conor O’Driscoll (0-4, 0-3f), David Spillane and Paul Clarke (0-1 each).

Dublin Institute of Technology

1. Lee Stacey (Good Counsel, Dublin)

2. Andrew McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)
3. Brian Power (Ratoath, Meath)
4. Ronan Shanahan (Austin Stacks, Kerry)

25. David McAllister (Emyvale, Monaghan)
6. Rossa O’Brien (Rathnew, Wicklow)
7. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan/Kilcash, Tipperary)

8. Tomás Corcoran (Strokestown, Roscommon)
9. Seán Hurley (Johnstownbridge, Kildare)

10. Enda Flanagan (Castlerahan, Cavan)
11. Caomhin O’Reilly (Butlersbridge, Cavan)
12. Cormac Howley (Round Towers Lusk, Dublin)

13. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina, Mayo)
14. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna, Dublin)
15. Shane Dempsey (St Lomans, Westmeath)


23. Callum Pearson (Killmacud Crokes, Dublin) for McAllister (ht)
20. Killian O’Gara (Templeogue Synge St, Dublin) for Glenn O’Reilly (42)
5. Liam Hughes (Killoe, Longford) for Corcoran (50)
18. Conor Madden (Gowna, Cavan) for Caomhin O’Reilly (54),
14. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna, Dublin) for Maher (60)

Institute of Technology Tralee

1. Conor Hurley (John Mitchels, Tralee)

2. Eoghan Marah (An Tóchar, Wicklow)
3. Cathal Kearney (Ballyduff, Kerry)
4. Brian Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes, Kerry)

5. Jack Morgan (Austin Stacks, Kerry)
6. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe, Kerry)
7. David Spillane (Spa, Kerry)

8. Shane Cronin (Spa, Kerry)
9. George Bastible (John Mitchels, Kerry)

10. Aaron McCarthy (Listry, Kerry)
11. Conor Lowney (Urhan, Kerry)
12. Conor O’Driscoll (Castlehaven, Cork)

13. Sean Cournane (St Marys, Kerry)
14. Paul Clarke (Dr Crokes, Kerry)
23. Darragh Kennedy (Monaleen, Limerick)


24. Gavin McKenna (Milltown/Castlemaine, Kerry) for Spillane (ht)
19. Daniel O’Keeffe (Dromtarriffe, Cork) for Crowley (ht)
20. Conchúir Lynch (Ballingeary, Cork) for Kennedy (36)
17. Donal Maher (Kilcummin, Kerry) for Marah (43)
18. Conor Smith (Knockbride, Cavan) for McCarthy (49)
21. Mark Quigley (St Marys, Kerry) for Cronin (49)

Referee: James Molloy (Galway)

The 42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘Is it going to a stage where it’s going hurt it? I think so, it’s nearly getting too professional’

4 goals propel Jordanstown into Sigerson Cup semi-final with win over 13-man UL

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jason O'Connor

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel