All-Ireland champs Donaghmoyne one game away from historic two-in-a-row

Three-time All-Star Cora Courtney found the target as the Ulster champions saw off Mourneabbey in a repeat of last year’s final.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) 1-8

Mourneabbey (Cork) 1-6

Alan Gunn reports from Fontenoy Park

REIGNING CHAMPIONS DONAGHMOYNE called on all their resolve and expertise to overcome Mourneabbey in Fontenoy Park in a nail-biting and high quality encounter that in the end was decided with late Catriona McConnell and Cora Courtney points.

For the Cork side it was to be a third successive loss to Ulster opposition after losing out in last year’s final to the Monaghan side also and to Donegal outfit Termon in 2014.

The visitors had led at the break, 1-4 to 0-5, thanks to a goal from team captain Brid O’Sullivan after 16 minutes, Mourneabbey’s only score from play.

But the home side battled their way back despite having both Fiona and Sharon Courtney sent to the sin bin in either half.

There were many key moments in this clash and the first was after just four minutes when Linda Martin dived full stretch to turn a Ciara O’Sullivan penalty around the post.
The sides were level on three occasions in the opening period, Doireann O’Sullivan with all four of Mourneabbey’s points from frees.

With Amanda Casey, Louise Kerley (2) and Cora Courtney on target Donaghmoyne led 0-4 to 0-3 after the opening 15 minutes before a great run and finish by Brid O’Sullivan yielded the opening goal.

Fiona Courtney was then yellow carded on 21 minutes but in that ten minute period Mourneabbey only registered a single point, that from the resultant free while Kerley was on target at the other end.

The home side got a dream start to the second half with last year’s final hero Hazel Kingham finding the net when her lobbing effort was misjudged by Meabh O’Sullivan in the Mourneabbey goal.

A minute later they had a big call for a penalty waved away for a foul on Kerley as they laid siege on the Cork side’s goal.

Doireann O’Sullivan and Kerley exchanged points as the game entered the final quarter.
Doireann O’Sullivan brought the sides level for the fifth time 12 minutes from time, a free that saw Sharon Courtney sent to the sin bin.

However, like in the first half that was to be the only score the Fontenoy’s were to conceded despite the numerical disadvantage.

They dug deep and with McConnell, her first of the day a minute into added time followed by a Cora Courtney point they secured yet another place in the decider. For Mourneabbey who had Cathy Ann Stack sin binned in added time it was to be another disappointment on the All-Ireland stage.

Watch the highlights below, courtesy of Jerome Quinn.

Source: LadiesFootballTV/YouTube

Scorers for Donaghmoyne: Louise Kerley 0-4 (3f), Hazel Kingham 1-0, Cora Courtney 0-2, Catriona McConnell 0-1, Amanda Casey 0-1.

Scorers for Mourneabbey: Doireann O’Sullivan 0-6f, Brid O’Sullivan 1-0.


Linda Martin

Joanne Geogehan
Sharon Courtney
Aine McElroy

Hazel Kingham
Fiona Courtney
Joanne Courtney

Amanda Casey
Cora Courtney

Catriona McConnell
Eileen McElroy
Rosemary Courtney

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Louise Kerley
Niamh Callan
Lauren Garland.

Roisin Finnegan for Garland (39).


Meabh O’Sullivan

Eimear Harrington
Cathy Ann Stack
Aisling O’Callaghan

Emma Coakley
Roisin O’Sullivan
Eimear Meaney

Marie O’Callaghan
Aisling O’Sullivan

Kathryn Coakley
Brid O’Sullivan
Ciara O’Sullivan

Ellie Jack
Doireann O’Sullivan
Sile O’Callaghan.

Emily Land for Aisling O’Callaghan (42)
Niamh O’Sullivan for Jack (55).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Martin Comerford rolls back the years as O’Loughlin Gaels hand Oulart The Ballagh 9-point beating

Goal machine Con O’Callaghan finds the net again as Cuala make it back to the Leinster final

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: