This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Monday 10 December, 2018

Langan hits 0-7 as Donegal see off 13-man Tyrone in replay to reach Ulster U21 semi-finals

A semi-final against Cavan is next up for Donegal.

Donegal's Michael Carroll with Tyrone's Paul Donaghey and Nathan Donnelly.
Donegal's Michael Carroll with Tyrone's Paul Donaghey and Nathan Donnelly.
Image: Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Donegal 0-18
Tyrone 1-9

A LATE LEE Brennan point in extra-time denied Donegal victory last week, but there was no stopping them in tonight’s EirGrid Ulster U21 football quarte-final replay in Ballybofey.

The teams were tied at 1-5 to 0-8 at the interval but Donegal accelerated clear in the second half to run out victors by six points and set up a semi-final clash with Cavan in Enniskillen next Wednesday night.

Donegal had began brightly on home soil to move ahead by 0-6 to 0-3 yet Tyrone were boost by a Ryan Coleman goal in the 13th minute.

They knocked over two points after that to push ahead on the scoreboard but Donegal had drawn level at the interval and were in control in the second half.

Donegal’s lead could have been increased in the 37th minute but Michael Langan, who finished with 0-7 overall, saw his penalty saved.

Entering the final quarter, it was 0-12 to 1-7 in favour of Donegal and Tyrone hung in grimly with points by David Mulgrew and Emmett McNabb leaving them 0-14 to 1-9 adrift with five minutes left.

Yet Donegal finished strongly with four points in a row on a night where Langan, Jamie Brennan, Michael Carroll and Cian Mulligan all caught the eye in the scoring stakes.

Tyrone were reduced to 13 men late on with Michael McKernan and Nathan Donnelly both dismissed.

Scorers for Donegal: Michael Langan 0-7 (0-3f), Jamie Brennan 0-3, Michael Carroll, Cian Mulligan 0-2 each, Adam Neely, Stephen McBrearty, Dara O’Baoill, Caolan McGonagle 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tyrone: Ryan Coleman 1-1, Lee Rafferty 0-2, Lee Brennan, Michael McKernan, Nathan Donnelly, Ben O’Donnell, David Mulgrew, Emmett McNabb 0-1 each.

Source: The42 GAA/SoundCloud

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

They’ve never won a Connacht U21 title but Sligo are through to final after pegging back Roscommon

After All-Ireland hurling win, O’Callaghan hits 2-5 as Dublin book Leinster U21 football final place

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: