Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 3°C
INPHO Dr Crokes, Slaughtneil and Corofin all march on.
# Club Action
Crokes reach Kerry semi-final, Slaughtneil reign in Derry and Corofin book Galway final spot
Big day of football in Derry, Kerry and Galway.

THREE OF THE All-Ireland football club semi-finalists from last February were in action today in their respective county championships and all three are still standing.

Reigning All-Ireland club kingpins Dr Crokes booked a place in the Kerry semi-finals while Slaughtneil, who lost out on St Patrick’s Day last, completed four-in-a-row by winning the Derry final.

And Corofin, defeated All-Ireland club semi-finalists this year, are still on track for a five-in-a-row in Galway but only after surviving a tough semi-final challenge.

Dr Crokes saw off Kenmare Shamrocks by 0-17 to 0-12 today in Killarney and their reward for that quarter-final victory is a semi-final date with West Kerry.

Dr Crokes were in front 0-7 to 0-6 at the break but made a powerful burst in the third quarter to move 0-11 to 0-7 clear. Kenmare cut the deficit to two points, 0-13 to 0-11, by the 51st minute yet were outscored by 0-4 to 0-1 thereafter.

Mícheál Burns kicked 0-4 for Dr Crokes with Colm Cooper and captain Daithi Casey weighing in with 0-3 apiece, while last year’s intermediate champions Kenmare had a 0-5 return from their Kerry senior Sean O’Shea.

Daithi Casey Tommy Dickson / INPHO Dr Crokes Daithi Casey Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

In the second quarter-final at Fitzgerald Stadium, 2015 county champions South Kerry saw off Rathmore by 0-15 to 0-12. The teams were level at 0-7 apiece at half-time with Shane Ryan’s free-taking key for Rathmore.

But South Kerry powered clear in the second half with Ronan Hussey, Daniel Daly and Matthew O’Sullivan amongst their scorers and despite a late brace of points from Kerry senior Paul Murphy for Rathmore, the divisional side held on and will now face Kerins O’Rahilly’s.

Kerry senior football semi-final draw – Saturday 7 October

  • Dr Crokes v West Kerry
  • Kerins O’Rahilly’s v South Kerry

Slaughtneil’s dominance of the Derry senior football championship continued with a comfortable 4-12 to 1-11 final win over Ballinascreen today.

It marked the fourth consecutive Derry senior football title for a club that have contested two of the last three All-Ireland deciders.

Goals from Chrissy McKaigue and Shane McGuigan helped them forge a 2-8 to 0-7 advantage at the interval before Keelan Feeney hit the third Slaughtneil goal early in the second half.

Ballinascreen did raise a green flag courtesy of Anton Kelly but McGuigan’s second goal helped ensure Slaughtneil ran out victors by 13 points.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Shane McGuigan scores a goal Lorcan Doherty / INPHO Slaughtneil's Shane McGuigan finds the net. Lorcan Doherty / INPHO / INPHO

In Galway, Corofin breathed a sigh of relief at Tuam Stadium after their 0-11 to 1-7 semi-final victory over Annaghdown. They trailed 1-4 to 0-6 at the interval with Frank Burke netting for Annaghdown.

Annaghdown were still in front entering the finale 1-7 to 0-8 but Corofin notched the last three points of the game to snatch the spoils and keep their hopes of five-in-a-row alive.

In the final they will meet Mountbellew-Moylough comprehensive 3-15 to 1-4 victors today in their semi-final against Monivea-Abbey. It will be a repeat of the 2015 decider which Corofin triumphed in by ten points.

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Thurles Sars hit 0-27 in semi-final win to stay on track for Tipp hurling four-in-a-row

Brendan Maher inspires Borris-Ileigh to first Tipperary SHC final in 29 years


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel