Carlow do themselves proud but patient Dublin run out comfortable 12-point winners

Carlow lost Brendan Murphy a red card after 48 minutes.

Dublin 0-19

Carlow 0-7

Kevin O’Brien reports from O’Moore Park

CARLOW AVOIDED A heavy defeat at the hands of Dublin and left O’Moore Park this evening with plenty of pride intact.

Dublin advanced to the Leinster semi-final in a comfortable manner but Diarmuid Connolly’s second-half brush with linesman Ciaran Brannigan will cause Jim Gavin some concern in the coming week.

Carlow operated extremely defensively but it was out of necessity as they attempted to restrain Dublin’s attacking riches.

Carlow’s defensive system worked to a point. In Dublin’s 13 games in the Leinster SFC under Gavin, it was just the second time they failed to hit the back of the net.

Barrowsiders trailed by just three at half-time, but Dublin had the legs and the patience to cruise home in the second-half. Another big factor was Carlow losing talisman Brendan Murphy to a second yellow on 48 minutes.

Murphy picked up a yellow int he first half and was dismissed after off-the-ball scuffle with Jonny Cooper was spotted by the linesman.

Carlow scored just twice after the break as they struggled to transition from defence to attack.

Brendan Murphy dejected after receiving a red card Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Midfielder Sean Murphy was their best player and acted like a one-man wrecking ball at times. He showed electric pace to break through the heart of the Dublin defence on a couple of occasions.

Dublin made some late changes before throw-in, with James McCarthy starting at wing-back, Ciaran Kilkenny at midfield and Niall Scully at wing-forward.

Carlow left Paul Broderick in the full-forward line on his own and have Darragh Foley holding his shape at centre-forward. The rest of their players dropped right back into defence.

In 1978 the Dubs also embarked on a season in pursuit of a third straight All-Ireland when they met Carlow at the same stage in Leinster. Dublin handed out a 6-18 to 2-9 beating on that date, but Carlow’s strategy meant a similar result was never on the cards today.

Sean Murphy with Jonny Cooper Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Noel McCaffrey was centre-back during Dublin’s last win over Carlow in 1988 and his son Jack was a key soldier in the Metropolitans’ latest victory over the Barrowsiders.

McCaffrey scored a brace of points, while the excellent Kilkenny finished with three from play.

The big question for Dublin heading into this game was how Con O’Callaghan would adjust to the transition from U21 to senior football.

Outside of the tranquil surroundings of a wide-open Croke Park, he started at centre-forward but struggled to get on much ball. That was understandable, given the presence of two or three spare defenders behind him.

The sides were level at 0-2 apiece after 10 minutes, but Dublin threatened to race clear midway through the half when a brace from McCaffrey helped push them four in front.

Foley dragged centre-back O’Sullivan wide as Sean Murphy’s electrifying runs from deep became Carlow’s best method of attack. Murphy kicked one huge effort and won a free that Broderick slotted over.

Kevin McManamon and Conor Lawlor Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The value of a free-taker was apparent as both Broderick and Foley kept the Carlow challenge on track in the first period.

Dublin were guilty of poor wides in the opening 35 minutes as McManamon, Mannion and Rock all missed scoreable chances.

Carlow frustrated Dublin to a huge degree in the opening half and they went in trailing by just three at half-time.

Carlow struggled to create scoring chances after the break as Dublin stretched their lead to six after a dominant third quarter.

The Barrowsiders lost Murphy during that period, a decision which drew a furious reaction from Turlough O’Brien on the sideline.

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Bernard Brogan arrived off the bench to kick two scores, while McHugh curled over a beauty as the Dubs sailed home.

Scorers for Dublin: Dean Rock 0-6 (all frees), Ciaran Kilkenny 0-3, Jack McCaffrey, Con O’Callaghan (frees) and Bernard Brogan 0-2 each, Paul Mannion, Niall Scully, Diarmuid Connolly (45) and Conor McHugh 0-1 each.

Scorers for Carlow: Paul Broderick 0-3 (all frees), Brendan Murphy, Sean Murphy, Danny Moran and Darragh Foley (free) 0-1 each.


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
4. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)

5. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge-Street)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)

10. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
11. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s)
12. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)

13. Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)


19. Bernard Brogan for McManamon (46)
21. Shane Carthy for McCaffrey (53)
26. Mark Schutte for Scully (58)
23. Conor McHugh for Rock (58)
20. David Byrne for O’Sullivan (61)
18. Denis Bastick for Fenton (67)


1. Craig Kearney (Palatine)

2. Chris Crowley (Palatine)
3. Shane Redmond (Tinryland)
4. Conor Lawlor (Palatine)

5. Danny Moran (Tinryland)
6. Daniel St Ledger (St Sylvester’s)
7. Gary Kelly (Mount Leinster Rangers)

8. Brendan Murphy (Rathvilly)
9. Séan Murphy (Fenagh)

10. Eoghan Ruth (Éire Óg)
11. Darragh Foley (Kilbride – captain)
12. Alan Kelly (Rathvilly)

13. Paul Broderick (Tinryland)
19. Sean Gannon (Eire Og)
15. John Murphy (Grange)


14. Ciaran Moran (Palatine) for Gannon (blood-sub, 21 – 24)
20. Mark Rennick  (Palatine) for Kelly (41)
21. Shane Clarke for Ruth (53)
22. Jamie Clarke for Gary Kelly (58)
18. Ciaran Nolan for Crowley (61)
17. Barry John Molloy for Moran (67)
14. Ciaran Moran for Broderick (69)

Referee: Sean Hurson (Tyrone)


The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘Mentally I needed a break, I was burned out’ – benefit for Limerick captain of time out last winter

‘I still think the provincial championships are magic and Munster final day is a great day’

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: