No decision yet on whether Dublin fans will be hitting the road for 2018 Leinster opener

The All-Ireland champions will take on Offaly or Wicklow.

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Dublin will have to wait to find out if they’ll be hitting the road for their opening game in the Leinster senior football championship next summer.

Dublin fans in Portlaoise Town Dublin fans in Portlaoise before last summer's Leinster quarter-final against Carlow. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

It was decided at a Leinster Council meeting last night to defer a decision on the venues for the quarter-final matches until after the first round games on the weekend of 12/13 May.

Dublin are due to play the winners of Offaly and Wicklow on 26/27 May. The past two seasons have seen Jim Gavin’s side travel to Nowlan Park and O’Moore Park for their opening ties but they’ll have to wait to see will a trip to Tullamore or Aughrim be in the offing.

Dublin fans during the game Dublin fans in Nowlan Park before the Leinster quarter-final against Laois in 2016. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

That first round meeting of Offaly and Wicklow, along with the clash of Carlow and Louth, have been fixed as a double-header in Portlaoise for 12/13 May.

On the same weekend Wexford will face Laois at Innovate Wexford Park after they won the coin toss to secure home advantage.

The quarter-final tie between Longford and Meath has been fixed for Glennon Brothers Pearse Park but that is subject to the completion of redevelopment work. Otherwise the game will be switched to Páirc Tailteann in Navan.

Mickey Burke and Robbie Smyth Meath's Mickey Burke and Longford's Robbie Smyth in opposition in this year's O'Byrne Cup final. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

The remaining quarter-final games will see Kildare face Louth or Carlow and Westmeath will meet Laois or Wexford.

The draws were also made last night for the pre-season Bord na Móna Leinster GAA series, which will only include inter-county teams this year.

New Dublin hurling manager Pat Gilroy will have his first game in charge on Wednesday 3 January.

Pat Gilroy   New Dublin hurling boss Pat Gilroy. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

O’Byrne Cup SF

Group 1: Dublin, Offaly, Wexford

Group 2: Kildare, Louth, Longford

Group 3: Meath, Carlow, Wicklow

Group 4: Westmeath, Laois

Format: Round robin with first placed team advancing to semi-finals. Westmeath and Laois play each other home and away with aggregate score deciding who tops Group 4.

Dates: 30 Dec, 3 Jan, 7 Jan. Semi-finals – 13/14 Jan. Final – 20/21 Jan.

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Opening Fixtures: 30 Dec: Offaly v Wexford, Louth v Longford, Wicklow v Carlow, Westmeath v Laois.

Walsh Cup SH

Group 1: Wexford, Carlow, Wicklow.

Group 2: Kilkenny, Kildare, Laois.

Group 3: Dublin, Antrim, Meath.

Group 4: Offaly, Westmeath.

Format: Round robin with first placed team advancing to semi-finals. Offaly and Westmeath will play each other home and away with aggregate score deciding who tops Group 4.

Dates: 30 Dec, 3 Jan, 7 Jan. Semi-finals: 14 Jan. Final: 21 Jan.

Opening Fixtures: 30 Dec: Carlow v Wicklow, Kildare v Laois, Meath v Antrim, Offaly v Westmeath

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Edward ‘Feathers’ Byrne, son of ‘Big Bird’, on nicknames, hurling and family

‘They’re all talking about Cora coming to town and it’s created a massive buzz’

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel