This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018

Dublin see off Kildare after extra-time in O'Byrne Cup final that features 43 points

A high-scoring match was won by the Dubs.

Emmett O'Conghaille of Dublin goes up against Eamon Callaghan of Kildare.
Emmett O'Conghaille of Dublin goes up against Eamon Callaghan of Kildare.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Dublin 0-24
Kildare 0-19

DUBLIN NEEDED EXTRA-time before finally wearing down the challenge of Kildare and grasping early season silverware in Newbridge today.

A highly entertaining O’Byrne Cup final at St Conleth’s swung in Dublin’s favour as they finished powerfully in extra-time. The one cloud on Dublin’s horizon after the game was the dismissal of  key midfielder Michael Darragh MacAuley at the end of normal-time when he received a straight red card after a challenge on Gary White.

Dean Rock was key to Dublin’s success as he top-scored with 0-10 while man-of-the-match Kevin McManamon – who also missed an extra-time penalty – struck 0-4 and Tomás Brady chipped in with 0-3.

Ciaran Fitzpatrick with Kevin McManamon Kevin McManamon was Dublin's man-of-the-match today. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Kildare’s Darroch Mulhall was extremely accurate from placed balls as he landed 0-7 while the long-range striking of Eamon Callaghan saw him grab 0-3 and that tally was matched by impressive substitute Padraig Fogarty.

The Lilywhites were sluggish in the opening stages as Dublin dictated matters. The teams were level at 0-3 apiece by the 13th minute before Dublin stitched together six points without reply. Rock and McManamon were at the heart of their best attacks as they moved into a commanding position.

But Kildare hauled themselves off the ropes before half-time with some splendid long-range points from Callaghan and Padraig O’Neill. Rock sent over the last point of the half to leave Dublin three in front yet Kildare remained in the hunt.

Tomas O'Connor with Rory O'Carroll Rory O'Carroll and Tomas O'Connor rise for a high ball in Newbridge. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

In the second-half of normal time, the action continued to ebb and flow. Slowly Kildare started to move into the ascendancy and after Dublin went in front by 0-13 to 0-10, Jason Ryan’s team posted four points on the bounce. The last of those was a 62nd minute Mulhall free and suddenly the home support was in full voice as their team hit the front.

Back came Dublin courtesy of points from Rock and Brady before Kildare cancelled out that burst with scores from Mulhall and Fogarty. Dublin’s saviour came in the unlikely form of Kilmacud Crokes defender Eoin Culligan as he joined the attack to lob over the equalising point. There was still enough time for more drama as MacAuley was sent-off and Mulhall missed a chance to win it for Kildare from a free before extra-time beckoned the two teams.

Emmett O'Conghaille with Eamon Murphy Dublin's Emmett Ó Conghaile with Kildare's Eamon Murphy. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

In extra-time, Dublin’s legs and sharpness told as they strode ahead of their opponents in the fading daylight. They were in front 0-20 to 0-19 at the midway mark of extra-time and kept Kildare scoreless before adding four points themselves. Mark Donnellan got down well to tip away a penalty by McManamon but the St Judes man had the final say when he whipped over an insurance point.

Scorers for Dublin
Dean Rock 0-10 (0-8f, 0-1 ’45), Kevin McManamon 0-4, Tomas Brady 0-3, Eoghan O’Gara, Shane Carthy 0-2 each, Cormac Costello, Eoin Culligan, Michael Deegan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Kildare
Darroch Mulhall 0-7 (0-7f), Eamon Callaghan, Padraig Fogarty 0-3 each, Eamon Murphy (0-2f), Padraig O’Neill 0-2, Fionn Dowling, Gary White 0-1 each.

Michael Dara MacAuley is sent off by David Gough Dublin's Michael Dara MacAuley is sent-off. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO


1. Sean Currie (Ballymun Kickhams)

4. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
2. Eoin Culligan (Kilmacud Crokes)

5. Nicky Devereux (Ballinteer St John’s)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

17. Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge-Street)
9. Emmett Ó Conghaile (Lucan Sarsfields)

10. Tomás Brady (Na Fianna)
11. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
12. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge-Street)

13. Kevin McManamon (St Judes)
14. Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge-Street)
15. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)

Fionn Dowling with Jack McCaffrey Fionn Dowling of Kildare goes up against Jack McCaffrey of Dublin. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

20. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna) for Devereux (inj) (12)
18. Shane Carthy (Naomh Mearnóg) for Scully (half-time)
26. Philip Ryan (St Brigid’s) for Costello (half-time)
8. Michael Dara MacAuley (Ballyboden St-Enda’s) for Bastick (48)
21. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens) for McCaffrey (52)
24. Graham Hannigan (Castleknock) for Cooper (black card) (62)
- Denis Bastick the extra man back on for Dublin for extra-time.
23. Michael Deegan (Donaghmore-Ashbourne) for O’Gara (80)
22. Harry Dawson (Skerries Harps) for Brady (88)
19. Niall Collins (St Patrick’s Donabate) for McManamon (89)

Jonny Cooper with Eamon Murphy Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO


1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

3. Ciaran Fitzpatrick (Kilcock)
2. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House)
7. Ollie Lyons (Celbridge)

6. Daryl O’Brien (Carbury)
4. Mick O’Grady (Celbridge)
5. Eoin Doyle (Naas)

8. Hugh Lynch (Confey)
9. Padraig O’Neill (St Laurence’s)

25. Eamon Murphy (Leixlip)
10. Eamon Callaghan (Naas)
12. Kevin Murnaghan (Moorefield)

13. Fionn Dowling (Suncroft)
14. Tomás O’Connor (Clane)
15. Darroch Mulhall (Athy)

A scuffle breaks out in the first half A scuffle breaks out in the first-half in Newbridge. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

26. Keith Cribbin (Johnstownbridge) for Doyle (42)
22. Gary White (Sarsfields) for Lynch (49)
17. Gavin Farrell (Castledermot) for Fitzpatrick (51)
24. Padraig Fogarty (St Laurence’s) for Murphy (56)
11. David Whyte (Moorefield) for Dowling (78)
20. Brian Kinahan (Athy) for O’Grady (85)
19. Willie Burke (Two Mile House) for Mulhall (89)

Referee: David Gough (Meath)

Dublin ease past Antrim into the Walsh Cup semi-finals

Waterford have ended a 34-year wait for a McGrath Cup title

O’Farrell shoots down Banner as Cork advance to Waterford Crystal final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: