Oisin Keniry/INPHO Dan O'Brien bags a goal for Dublin in tonight's clash.
Dominant Dubs

1-9 for O'Brien as Dublin claim 16-point win over Longford in Leinster U20 football opener

A strong start by Dublin in Pearse Park tonight.

Dublin 2-21
Longford 0-11

Seamus Morris reporting from Pearse Park, Longford

DUBLIN STARTED THEIR EirGid Leinster U20 football Championship campaign with a comprehensive win over Longford in Pearse Park this evening.

A powerful Dublin side dominated this game, played in perfect sunshine. Dublin didn’t take long to assert their superiority in the game. They visitors struck for their first goal
in the 8th minute, with Dan O’Brien finishing to the net.

Dublin added a second goal in the 11th minute, with Tom Keane finding the net. Frees from Thomas McGann kept Longford in touch, but Dublin, with O’Brien in electric form in attack, scored at will.

Conor Howley was also prominent for Dublin and he landed two points late in the first half, with the visitors leading at the break by 2-11 to 0-8.

Top scorer O’Brien (who finished with 1-9) started the second half with a point as Dublin’s dominance continued.

The only consolation for Longford in the second half was that Dublin didn’t add another goal. Longford tried not to let their heads drop, but the result was beyond question long before the final whistle.

Scorers for Dublin: Dan O’Brien 1-9, Tom Keane 1-1, Sean Bugler, Cormac Howley, Ciaran Archer (0-1 ’45) 0-3 each, James Doran, James Madden 0-1 each.

Scorers for Longford: Thomas McGann 0-5 (0-5f), Peter Lynn, Shane Farrell, Alan McKeon (0-1f) Iarla O’Sullivan, Rory Hawkins, Ruairi Harkin 0-1 each.


1. David O’Hanlon

2. Nathan Nolan
3. Nathan Doran
4. Ciaran Smith

5. Kieran Kennedy
6. Neil Matthews
7. Eoin O’Dea

8. Donal Ryan
9. Eoghan Fitzpatrick

15. Sean Bugler
13. Dan O’Brien
11. James Madden

14. James Doran
10. Cormac Howley
12. Tom Keane


Conor Hynes for Tom Keane (37)
James Holland for Fitzpatrick (48)
Michael Mullin for Kennedy (55)
Ciaran Archer for Howley (55)
Karl Lynch Bissett for Madden (57)
Sean Farrelly for O’Dea (60)


1. Conor Gallagher

2. Kian Gilmore
3. Gerard Flynn
4. Mark McCormack

5. Cillian Lee (captain)
6. Michael Cahill
7. Shane Farrell

8. Enda Farrell
9. Cian McElligott

10. Iarla O’Sullivan
11. Peter Lynn
12. Niall Farrelly

13. Alan McKeon
14. Thomas McGann
15. Rory Hawkins


Daire Duggan for Michael Cahill (half-time)
Ruairi Harkin for O’Sullivan (39)
Ryan McHugh for Cian McElligott (46)
Shane Campbell for McCormack (48)
Ross Claffey for Enda Farrell (55)
Aaron McGee for Hawkins (60)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Eoghan Kerin: ‘It was only when I got up off the ground, I could hear him in real pain’

‘It brings lads closer together’ – Longford rejoice after ending 30-year wait for Leinster semi-final

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel