Dublin and Mayo stick to their guns as sides named for All-Ireland triple-header

Tipp, Tyrone, Derry and Fermanagh have also named their teams to start in Croke Park on Sunday.

Head-to-head: Mayo's Sarah Tierney and Dublin's Sinéad Aherne.
Head-to-head: Mayo's Sarah Tierney and Dublin's Sinéad Aherne.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

ALL EYES WILL be on Croke Park this Sunday as the three TG4 All-Ireland finals are down for decision.

The main event sees Dublin and Mayo go head-to-head for the senior title (throw-in 4pm, live on TG4).

The Sky Blues will be hoping it’s a case of fourth time lucky after losing the last three deciders to Cork, while Mayo return to the final for the first time since 2007.

Both camps have opted for unchanged starting teams.

Dublin manager Mick Bohan has named the same fifteen who took to the field as they eased past Kerry in the semi-final to book their fourth consecutive final. Sunday’s starting team shows 13 survivors from the side which started against Cork in last September’s decider.

Mayo boss Frank Browne has also stuck to his guns and named the same starting team which pulled off a huge victory over the Rebels in Breffni Park three weeks ago. Browne will be aiming to guide the Westerners to their first All-Ireland senior title since 2003, while the Dubs have won just once, in 2010.

Sarah Tierney, Samantha Lambert, Cait Glass, Aine McGovern, Sinead Ahearne and Neamh Woods Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

In the intermediate decider, it’s Tipperary and Tyrone (throw-in 1.45pm, live on TG4) who will do battle.

The Munster champions have named an unchanged team from their semi-final victory over Meath, while Tyrone have made three changes to the starting side who defeated Sligo.

Shannon Cunningham, Lycrecia Quinn and Áine Canavan all come into the side, with Joanne Barrett, Maria Canavan and Emma Smyth the players to make way.

Neamh Woods and Samantha Lambert Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

And the two junior finalists — Derry and Fermanagh (throw-in 11:45am, live on TG4) have both opted to remain unchanged. Ulster champions Derry will hope to repeat the feat at All-Ireland final level, as they ran out 4-10 to 1-10 winners over the Erne county that day.


1. Ciara Trant (St. Brigid’s)

2. Martha Byrne (Cuala)
3. Sinéad Finnegan (Fingallians)
4. Rachel Ruddy (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

5. Sinéad Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely)
6. Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely)
7. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna)

8. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes)
9. Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis)

10. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire)
11. Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps)
12. Nicole Owens (St Slylvester’s)

13. Sinéad Ahearne (St Sylvester’s) – captain
14. Niamh McEvoy (St Sylvester’s)
14. Noelle Healy (St Brigid’s)


1. Yvonne Byrne (Ballyhaunis)

2. Orla Conlon (Castlebar Mitchells)
3. Sarah Tierney (Hollymount) – captain
4. Martha Carter (Carnacon)

5.  Rachel Kearns (CL McHale Rovers)
6. Marie Corbett (Carnacon)
7. Fiona Doherty (Moy Davitts)

8. Aileen Gilroy (St Brigid’s)
9. Fiona McHale (Carnacon)

10. Doireann Hughes (Carnacon)
11. Niamh Kelly (Moy Davitts)
12. Ciara Whyte (Kilmoremoy)

13. Sarah Rowe (Kilmoremoy)
14. Cora Staunton (Carnacon)
15. Grace Kelly (Moy Davitts)


1. Lauren Fitzpatrick (Ballymacarbry)

2. Siobhán Condon (Aherlow)
3. Maria Curley (Templemore)
4. Emma Buckley (Cahir)

5. Bríd Condon (Aherlow)
6. Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan) – captain
7. Laura Dillon (Ardfinnan)

8. Aisling McCarthy (Cahir)
9. Jennifer Grant (Brian Borus)

10. Niamh Longergan (Moyle Rovers)
11. Mairéad Morrissey (Brian Borus)
12. Aisling Moloney (Cahir)

13. Róisín Howard (Cahir)
14. Gillian O’Brien (Moyle Rovers)
15. Orla Dwyer (Boherlahan)


1. Shannon Lynch (Mná Na Deirge)

2. Emma Brennan (Trillick)
3. Emma Mulgrew (Cill Íseal)
4. Caoileann Conway (Sperrin Óg)

5. Neamh Woods (Drumragh) – captain
6. Shannon Cunningham (Errigal Ciarán)
7. Christiane Hunter (Omagh St Enda’s)

8. Méabh Mallon (Aodh Ruadh)
9. Emma Jane Gervin (Aodh Ruadh)

10. Niamh Hughes (Aodh Ruadh)
11. Lycrecia Quinn (Errigal Ciarán)
12. Áine Canavan (Errigal Ciarán)

13. Niamh O’Neill (Sperrin Óg)
14. Gemma Begley (An Charraig Mhór)
15. Gráinne Rafferty (Cill Íseal)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


1. Cheree Mackey (Faughanvale)

2. Aoife McGeogh (Steelstown)
3. Dania Donnelly (Ballinascreen)
4. Cáit Glass (Ballinascreen) – captain

5. Nuala Browne (Moneymore)
6. Katie Holly (Steelstown)
7. Danielle Kivlehan (Glen)

8. Aoife Laverty (Steelstown)
9. Emma Doherty (Steelstown)

10. Jackie Donnelly (Ballinascreen)
11. Ciara Moore (Slaughtmanus)
12. Erin Doherty (Ballymaguigan)

13. Annie Crozier (Ballymaguigan)
14. Megan Devine (Steelstown)
15. Ciara McGuirk (Steelstown)


1. Róisín Gleeson (St Patrick’s)

2. Edel Campbell (Broookeborough)
3. Courtney Murphy (Kinawley)
4. Naomi McManus (Brookeborough)

5. Maria Connolly (Newtownbutler)
6. Shauna Hamilton (Devenish)
7. Aisling Maguire (Devenish)

8. Marita McDonald (Castlebar)
9. Áine McGovern (Kinawley) – captain

10. Róisín O’Reilly (Kinawley)
11. Aisling Woods (Brookeborough)
12. Lisa MaGuire (Kinawley)

13. Eimear Smyth (Derrygonnelly)
14. Sharon Murphy (Lisnaskea)
15. Nuala McManus (Brookeborough)

TG4 Ladies All-Ireland finals, Sunday 24 September, Croke Park (All live on TG4)

  • Derry v Fermanagh, 11:45am
  • Tipperary v Tyrone, 1:45pm
  • Dublin v Mayo, 4pm

Tickets for all three games, priced at €25 for adults and €10 for students/OAPs/U14s, are available to buy here.

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

The hectic lifestyle of an anaesthetist aiming to numb Dublin’s All-Ireland pain

‘To say that Cora Staunton intimidates referees is an outrageous statement and it’s very derogatory’

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel