Mayo's Donal Vaughan with Jonny Cooper and Jack McCaffrey of Dublin. INPHO/James Crombie
Division 1

Dublin see off Mayo to set up meeting with Tyrone

Jim Gavin’s men secured a six-point win over last year’s beaten All-Ireland finalists at Croke Park.

Dublin 2-16
Mayo 0-16

DUBLIN SECURED A six-point win over Mayo to secure a place in the National Football League Division 1 final at Croke Park this afternoon.

After Tyrone had beaten Kildare in the first of a double header at GAA HQ, Bernard Brogan returned to the Dublin starting line-up after a spell on the sidelines to kick five points.

Last year’s beaten All-Ireland finalists Mayo began strongly and found themselves three points ahead 10 minutes in thanks to scores from Cillian O’Connor and Cathal Carolan.

However, first half goals from Paul Mannion and Jason Whelan put the Dubs in the driving seat and they led 2-9 to 0-8 at the break.

O’Connor began the second half as he had the first with a well-placed free-kick between the posts but despite further scores from Aidan O’Shea and Michael Conroy, Jim Gavin’s side held the two-goal cushion throughout.

Seamus O’Shea kept Paddy Andews out with an excellent save five minutes from the end and Dublin go on to play Tyrone in two weeks’ time.

Scorers for Dublin: Paul Mannion 1-4 (0-1f), Bernard Brogan 0-5 (0-1f), Jason Whelan 1-1, Diarmuid Connolly 0-3, Stephen Cluxton (0-1f), Darren Daly, Jack McCaffrey 0-1 each.
Scorers for Mayo: Cillian O’Connor 0-8 (0-7f), Michael Conroy 0-3, Aidan O’Shea 0-2, Jason Gibbons, Kevin McLoughlin (0-1f), Cathal Carolan 0-1 each.
Subs for Dublin: Nicky Devereux (Ballinteer St John’s) for Daly (47), Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge Street) for O’Sullivan (50), Kevin McManamon (St Judes) for Connolly (56), Mick Fitzsimons (Cuala) for Cooper (65).

Subs for Mayo: Richie Feeney (Castlebar Mitchels) for Doherty (half-time), Brian Gallagher (Claremorris) for Gibbons (45), Michael Walsh (Ardnaree) for Keane (45), Alan Murphy (Ballinrobe) for Carolan (56), Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites) for McLoughlin (65).

Division 1 FL: Tyrone reach final, after hard-fought defeat of Kildare

Clare win out in relegation final after extra-time

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.