Dublin: 10°C Friday 28 January 2022

New senior hurling champions crowned in Dublin as 21-year wait ends

Cuala took on St Jude’s in today’s final.

Cuala's Oisin Gough is challenged by Danny Sutcliffe and Joe McManus of St Jude's.
Cuala's Oisin Gough is challenged by Danny Sutcliffe and Joe McManus of St Jude's.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Cuala 3-14
St Jude’s 0-13

Brothers Sean and David Treacy fired 2-8 between them to propel Cuala to a first Dublin SHC title since 1994 at Parnell Park this afternoon.

Teenager Sean blasted 2-1 while big brother David, an experienced county forward with Dublin, matched that tally with 0-7, all from placed balls.

Cuala were hot favourites beforehand to claim a fourth title ever and duly delivered with a strong performance, particularly in the closing 20 minutes when they pulled comfortably clear.

Aside from the Treacys, county man and former Kerry player Darragh O’Connell impressed while Colm Cronin shot 1-2.

Mattie Kenny’s side were locked with Jude’s, also beaten in last year’s final, at 0-5 to 0-5 after 18 minutes but pulled decisively clear thanks to Treacy’s first goal soon after.

That strike separated the sides at half-time when Cuala led 1-7 to 0-7, though Jude’s were coming into a purple patch at this stage.

They restarted with points from Danny Sutcliffe and Jesse Kennedy to leave just a point in it at 1-7 to 0-9.

But 1-1 from Cuala, including Cronin’s 34th minute goal, an improvised one-handed finish from close range, put them in the clear again.

Jude’s battled bravely and had the margin down to four with 20 or so minutes to go but couldn’t kick on from there.

In fact, Cuala outscored their opponents by 1-5 to 0-2 in the run to win with plenty to spare and Treacy’s second goal, following a clever interception by Cronin, sealed the deal.

The Cuala team celebrate winning Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Scorers for Cuala: Sean Treacy 2-1, David Treacy 0-7 (0-5f, 1 s/l, 1 65), Colm Cronin 1-2, Darragh O’Connell 0-3, Mark Schutte 0-1.

Scorers for St Jude’s: Fionn O Riain Broin (0-3f), Danny Sutcliffe 0-3 each, Wayne Hutchinson (0-1f), Paul Maguire, Joe McManus, Ronan Joyce, Jesse Kennedy, Rob Hardy, Tom Devlin 0-1 each.


1. Sean Brennan

2. Ross Tierney
3. Cian O’Callaghan
4. Simon Timlin

5. Shane Stapleton
8. Oisin Gough
7. Sean Moran

9. Darragh O’Connell
17. Jake Malone

10. Cian Waldron
11. Colm Cronin
12. Nicky Kenny

15. Sean Treacy
13. David Treacy
14. Mark Schutte


20. Colum Sheanon for Kenny (44)
19. Barry Connolly for Waldron (54)
18. Bobby Browne for Timlin (61)

St Jude’s

1. Martin Hartnett

4. Eoin McLoughlin
6. Wayne Hutchinson
3. Ger McManus

5. Cian O Riain Broin
7. Rob Hardy
2. Ciaran Mangan

8. Neal Mangan
9. Paul Maguire

12. Ronan Joyce
11. Danny Sutcliffe
10. Jesse Kennedy

13. Joe McManus
14. Tom Devlin
15. Fionn O Riain Broin


21. Alan O Beirne for C O Riain Broin (36)
19. John Ryan for N Mangan (43)
17. Stephen Larkin for Devlin (47)
20. Andy McGovern for F O Riain Broin (57)

Referee: Anton Keating (Setanta)

‘I just told him repeatedly that I loved him’ – Jim McGuinness recalls family tragedies

Resolution reached in Cavan after Lacken were scheduled to play two finals on the same day

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel