Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Tuesday 11 May 2021

Brogan and Connolly to lead Dublin attack against Carlow

Dubs manager Jim Gavin has made 11 changes from the side that were beaten in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Dublin's Bernard Brogan and Diarmuid Connolly with Philip Jordan of Tyrone.
Dublin's Bernard Brogan and Diarmuid Connolly with Philip Jordan of Tyrone.
Image: ©INPHO/James Crombie

BERNARD BROGAN AND Diarmuid Connolly will spearhead the Dublin attack in the season opening clash against Carlow in the O’Byrne Cup.

New Dublin manager Jim Gavin, along with selectors Declan Darcy, Mick Deegan, Michael Kennedy and Shane O’Hanlon, has named a strong side for the Sunday clash at Dr Cullen Park.

Nonetheless, there are just four players in the starting XV that started the All-Ireland semi-final loss to Mayo.

The players retained from the team that were beaten 0-19 to 0-16 last September are Stephen Cluxton, Cian O’Sullivan, Ger Brennan and Brogan.

Michael Darragh MccAuley and Denis Bastick are named on the bench, along with goalkeeper Shane Supple.

Supple, who plays with St Brigids, has established himself as a reliable understudy to Cluxton at county level following his decision to step away from professional football with Ipswich Town in 2010.

Notable absentees in the squad are Bryan Cullen, who has been granted leave after his recent marriage to Irish 100m sprinter Ailis McSweeney, and Ciaran Kilkenny.

The talented Kilkenny is now in Melbourne, Australia with AFL outfit, Hawthorns.

The Ballymun Kickhams panel have not been considered for selection due to their involvement in the All-Ireland Club Championship.

Dublin: S Cluxton (Parnells); D Daly (Fingal Ravens), G Brennan (St Vincent’s), D Byrne (St Olaf’s); E Lowndes (St Peregrines), T Brady (Na Fianna), C O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes); D O’Mahony (Ballyboden St Enda’s), E O’Conghaile (Lucan Sarsfields); P Quinn (Na Fianna), P Andrews (St Brigids), D Connolly (St Vincent’s); K McManamon (St Judes), P Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes), B Brogan (Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruaidh).

Subs: S Supple (St Brigids), J McCaffrey (Clontarf), D Nelson (Ballyboden St Endas), C Guckian (St Judes), D Bastick (Synge Street, Templeogue), M.D McAuley (Ballyboden St Enda’s), R Hazley (St Sylvesters), S Carthy (Naoimh Mearnog), G Sweeney (St Sylvesters), R McCarthy (St Peregrines), G Seaver (Ballyboughal).

Who wants to see Kerry’s football stars knock each other out tonight?

Let’s meet the new men in charge

About the author:

Patrick McCarry

Read next: