Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Tuesday 13 April 2021

Late Dean Rock goal rescues draw for Dublin against Tyrone

There was no separating Mickey Harte and Jim Gavin’s teams in Croke Park tonight.

Dean Rock bagged Dublin's crucial goal tonight.
Dean Rock bagged Dublin's crucial goal tonight.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Dublin 1-9
Tyrone 0-12

Updated 21.00pm

A LATE GOAL from Dean Rock rescued a draw for Dublin against Tyrone in tonight’s Allianz Division 1 football league clash in Croke Park.

Tyrone’s strong second-half performance looked set to ensure they enjoyed a successful trip to headquarters but Rock, Dublin’s top scorer on the night with 1-6, dashed the hopes of Mickey Harte’s team.

It took great work by Eoghan O’Gara to create the goal in the 69th minute when he played the ball across and Rock rose highest to palm the ball to the bottom corner of the net.

Tyrone had a late chance to win the match but Niall Morgan’s long-range free in injury-time drifted wide in front of Hill 16 and both teams had to be happy with a share of the spoils.

A dejected Niall Morgan Niall Morgan missed a difficult late free for Tyrone tonight. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The result means Dublin have only one win to date from their four league games after beating Donegal but losing out to Cork and Kerry. Tyrone endured a draw for the second successive Saturday night after tying with Derry last weekend.

Tyrone made an early scoring burst with Sean Cavanagh influential as they went ahead 0-3 to 0-1 after 9 minutes. Dublin quickly reeled them through Rock and Bernard Brogan  points to draw level by the 16th minute.

Tyrone pushed on once more and when Morgan boomed over a 50-yard free in the 24th minute, they were 0-6 to 0-4 clear. But Jim Gavin will have been satisfied to see his team respond as a pair of converted Rock frees had the teams level at 0-6 apiece at the break.

Rory OÕCarroll tackles Tiernan McCann Dublin's Rory O'Carroll tackles Tyrone's Tiernan McCann. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Dublin introduced key attacker Paul Flynn at half-time yet Tyrone dictated the early second-half exchanges and when Barry Tierney pointed in the 51st minute, they could reflect on a 0-9 to 0-7 lead.

Dublin hit back through Rock and Flynn but three points on the spin for Tyrone from Mark Bradley, Darren McCurry and Cavanagh sent Tyrone 0-12 to 0-9 clear with five minutes left.

Shane Carthy tackles Sean Cavanagh Sean Cavanagh in action for Tyrone against Dublin. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

It looked sufficient to secure them the victory but Dublin mounted a late charge with Rock grabbing the vital goal.

Scorers for Dublin: Dean Rock 1-6 (0-4f), Emmett Ó Conghaile, Bernard Brogan, Paul Flynn 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tyrone: Sean Cavanagh 0-4 (0-4f), Darren McCurry 0-2 (0-2f), Justin McMahon, Niall Morgan (0-1f), Barry Tierney, Padraig McNulty, Mattie Donnelly, Mark Bradley 0-1 each.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2. Eoin Culligan (Kilmacud Crokes)
3. Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Johnny Cooper (Na Fianna)

7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
6. Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
5. Nicky Devereux (Ballinteer St John’s)

8. Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge Street)
9. Emmett O Conghaile

10. Tomás Brady (Na Fianna)
12. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
11. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)

13. Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s)
14. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)
15. Bernard Brogan (Oliver Plunkett’s Eoghan Ruaidh)

18. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes) for Bastick (28)
23. Paul Flynn (Fingallians) for Kilkenny (half-time)
19. Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge-Street) for Andrews (half-time)
21. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams) for McMahon (58)
25. Shane Carthy (Naomh Mearnóg) for Ó Conghaile (64)
17. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille) for Brady (66)


1. Niall Morgan (Edendork)

3. Ronan McNamee (Aghyaran)
6. Justin McMahon (Omagh)
4. Cathal McCarron (Dromore)

12. Barry Tierney (Omagh)
5. Ronan McNabb (Dromore)
2. Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciarán)

8. Colm Cavanagh (Moy)
9. Padraig McNulty (Dungannon)

10. Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher)
11. Mattie Donnelly (Trillick)
7. Peter Harte (Errigal Ciarán)

13. Darren McCurry (Edendork)
25. Cathal McShane (Owen Roe)
14. Sean Cavanagh (Moy)

17. Mark Bradley (Killyclogher) for McShane (half-time)
20. PJ Lavery (Clonoe) for McCarron (54)
21. Conall McCann (Killyclogher) for Tierney (60)

Referee: David Gough (Meath)

Tipperary still in the hunt for promotion after Clare victory

Cork hit 34 points en route to an easy win over Dublin

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: