This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Sunday 9 December, 2018


21,230 Views 7 Comments

Hello, and welcome to The42‘s coverage of today’s All-Ireland U21 football final.

There’s all to play for at O’Connor Park, as Dublin and Galway go head-to-head for the coveted title. We’re in for a historic occasion as well — it’s the last ever U21 final as the format changes to U20 next year.

Throw-in is at 5pm (live on TG4) and we’ll be providing you with updates here.

As always, we’d love to hear your thoughts on the game. You can tweet us @the42_ie, or leave a comment below.

Here are the teams:

The Dubs have made one change to their starting side from their semi-final win, with Declan Monaghan returning to the half-back line. Galway have named an unchanged side.


1. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)

2. Darren Byrne (Raheny)
3. Cillian O’Shea (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)

5. Declan Monaghan (Clontarf)
6. Seán McMahon (Raheny)
7. Cian Murphy (Thomas Davis)

8. Andy Foley (Clontarf)
9. Brian Howard (Raheny)

10. Tom Fox (Kilmacud Crokes)
11. Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna)
12. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna)

13. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Dan O’Brien (Kilmacud Crokes)

Subs: Evan Whelan, Paddy Small, Stephen Smith, Darragh Spillane, Tony O’Sullivan, Andrew McGowan, Chris Sallier, Ben Shovlin and Darren Gavin


1. Ronan Ó Beoláin (Mícheál Breathnach)

2. Liam Kelly (An Spidéal)
3. Sean Andy Ó Ceallaigh (Leitir Mor)
4. Ruairi Greene (Killannin)

5. Kieran Molloy (Corofin)
6. Dylan McHugh (Corofin)
7. Cillian McDaid (Monivea-Abbey)

8. Peter Cooke (Moycullen)
9. Cein D’Arcy (Caherlistrane)

10. Sean Kelly (Moycullen)
11. Michael Daly (Mountbellew-Moylough)
12. Paul Mannion (Kilconly)

13. Robert Finnerty (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
14. Eoin Finnerty (Mountbellew-Moylough)
15. Dessie Conneely (Moycullen)

Subs: Cormac Haslam, Pádraic Ó Curraoin, Colm Brennan, William Finnerty, Colin Brady, Antaine Ó Laoi, Michael Boyle, Eric Lee, Colm Mannion

The referee is Ciaran Branagan from Down.

Galway pulled off a huge victory over Kerry in the semi-final, while Dublin beat Donegal. They’re the two most successful counties at underage level, with four titles apiece since 2000. Dublin last won in 2014, and Galway’s last title came in 2013.

Galway players celebrate Galway celebrate after beating Kerry. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

It’s the first final meeting between the sides since 2002 — the Tribesmen won back then by eight points.

Con O'Callaghan Dublin star Con O'Callaghan should have a big say in today's decider. Source: Presseye/Philip Magowan/INPHO

We should be in store for a cracker today.

All set for throw-in in Tullamore.

And we’re under way.

Dublin 0-1 Galway 0-0
Early Dublin point from Glenn O’Reilly.

Dublin 0-2 Galway 0-0
6 mins – Con O’Callaghan taps over a close range for Dublin into a swirling breeze.

Three early wides for Dublin, Michael Daly with the latest effort off target.

Dublin 0-2 Galway 0-1
7 mins – Galway off the mark, Daly makes no mistake on this occasion from play.

Brilliant goalkeeping by Galway’s Ronán Ó Beoláin to flick the ball away as Colm Basquel was trying to net from close range.

Sub: Dublin bring in Darren Gavin for Andy Foley, an injury doubt before the game.

A low snap shot by Aaron Byrne for Dublin rolls wide but it didn’t look like the goal was ever really on there.

Dublin 0-3 Galway 0-1
14 mins – Colm Basquel sees his first shot off his left blocked but he gathers the rebound to pop over a point with his right.

Dublin 0-4 Galway 0-1
18 mins – Basquel on target again, clipping over his second point of the game, this time with his left foot.

Dublin 0-4 Galway 0-2
20 mins – Galway badly needed something to inspire them and Eoin Finnerty supplies a superb point, kicking over after an excellent incisive run.

Dublin 0-4 Galway 0-3
21 mins – And another brilliant score for Galway! This time from wing-back Cillian McDaid as he raises a white flag after surging forward from defence.

Dublin 0-5 Galway 0-3
23 mins – A second point of the day for Glenn O’Reilly and Dublin go two clear.

Yellow card for Galway defender Liam Kelly for an off-the-ball incident.

Dublin 0-5 Galway 0-4
29 mins – Galway’s first point of the game from a free. Peter Cooke converted after corner-back Ruairí Greene was fouled.

It’s not been a cracking game so far, very cagey and both sides struggling to get into a proper rhythm.

Galway have made a change. They bring on Corofin’s Colin Brady, semi-final goalscorer against Kerry, for Robert Finnerty.

Dublin 0-6 Galway 0-4

He’s done it again! Another early score for Dublin’s Glenn O’Reilly.

Dessie Connelly has a shot blocked by Darren Byrne Galway’s Dessie Connelly has a shot blocked by Darren Byrne of Dublin. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Dublin 0-8 Galway 0-4

Dan O’Brien with a nice point from play.

GOAL for Dublin!

O’Callaghan palms it into the net.

Galway come close to hitting the net but it drills wide. Dublin play the ball nicely around the middle before the Tribesman break down the attack. It’s still 1-8 to 0-4.

Changes for both sides: Tom Fox is on for Darragh Spillane, as Michael Boyle replaces Dessie Conneely.

Dublin 1-9 Galway 0-4

41 mins – Dan O’Brien hits a huge point for the Dubs as the gap is widened to 8 points.

Dublin 1-9 Galway 0-5

43 mins – Important score for Galway’s Paul Mannion. Meanwhile, Eric Lee replaces Sean Kelly.

Dublin 1-10 Galway 0-5

45mins – Brian Howard with a superb point. Chris Sallier is on for Glenn O’Reilly.

Dublin are closing out any potential Galway threats comfortably. The Westerners need something special if they are to tip this game in their favour.

GOAL for Galway!

And that was special! McDaid with the goal.

Dublin 1-10 Galway 1-6

Corofin’s Kieran Molloy grabs another back. Is there a huge comeback on the cards?

Dublin have a goal chance saved at the other end, and Galway really are building momentum.

Dublin 1-10 Galway 1-6

55 mins – Super save! Comerford denies Greene and it then hits the post.

GOAL for Dublin!

Aaron Byrne hits the net. It’s Dublin 2-10 Galway 1-6

Dublin 2-10 Galway 1-7

57 mins – Brady splits the posts.

Dublin 2-11 Galway 1-7

59 mins – Andrew McGowan on for McMahon and Padraic Ó Curraoin for Molloy. O’Callaghan with another free.

GOAL for Galway!

61 mins – Brennan hits an injury time goal. There’s a bit of a tussle in the area but it finds the back of the net.

Late Dublin substitutions: Stephen Smith on for Byrne and Paddy Small for Basquel.

Dublin 2-12 Galway 2-7

63 mins – Substitute Smith with the score.

PENALTY for Dublin!

Dublin 2-13 Galway 2-7

O’Callaghan puts the penalty over. And that’s that.

Full time: Dublin 2-13 Galway 2-7

Aaron Byrne celebrates scoring a goal Dublins Aaron Byrne celebrates scoring a goal. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

About the author:

Emma Duffy


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel