Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Wednesday 12 May 2021

Limerick fans sing 'that's why you're champions' to Dundalk players after comeback

The SSE Airtricity League Premier Division leaders had been behind at Markets Field before the turnaround.

Dundalk goalscorer Richie Towell.
Dundalk goalscorer Richie Towell.
Image: Ciaran Culligan/INPHO

Limerick 1-3 Dundalk

DUNDALK CAN WIN the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division in Tallaght in a fortnight after they overcame a resilient Limerick side at the Markets Field.

As bottom hosted top, the basement side didn’t read the script.

Only seventy seconds of play had elapsed and Limerick had won a corner.

Shane Tracy stood over the set piece and his cross was met at the near post by a glancing header from Vinny Faherty. The ball ran across the face of goal before Dean Clarke smashed into the roof of the net from close range.

Dundalk’s pressure eventually told. Richie Towell peeled off to the far post on 76 minutes – latching onto Kilduff’s knock down to slide his effort under Hall.

Four minutes later, the champions elect were ahead. Towell again peeled away to the far post. This time, tightly marked, he turned and shot in hope. The effort took a deflection and flew past Hall.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Shane Duggan and Ronan Finn Limerick captain Shane Duggan is tracked by Ronan Finn. Source: Ciaran Culligan/INPHO

The win was sealed two minutes later when Daryl Horgan fired a superb through ball through the heart of the Limerick backline. Kilduff was one-on-one and made no mistake.

LIMERICK: Freddy Hall; Shaun Kelly, Patrick Kanyuka, Robbie Williams, Shane Tracy; Shane Duggan, Paul O’Conor (Prince Agyemang, 87); Ian Turner, Lee-J Lynch (Sean Russell, 70), Dean Clarke; Vinny Faherty.

DUNDALK: Gary Rogers; Sean Gannon, Andy Boyle, Paddy Barrett, Dane Massey; Chris Shields (Stephen O’Donnell, 63), Richie Towell; Darren Meenan (John Mountney, 75), Ronan Finn, Daryl Horgan; David McMillan (Ciaran Kilduff, 67).

Referee: Neil Doyle (Dublin)

Irish pair Brady and Walters on target, Hoolahan tops Premier League assist charts

Incredible scenes as Wexford Youths clinch title & reach the top-flight for first time

About the author:

Andrew Cunneen

Read next: