Shamrock Rovers, Cork, Derry and Galway book EA Sports Cup quarter-final spots

Sligo, Waterford, Cabinteely and Cockhill Celtic are out.

Ross Gaynor Ross Gaynor was on target for Cork City at the RSC. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

CORK CITY HAVE made a good start to the season in the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division and their good form continued this afternoon in the League Cup — a competition they haven’t won since 1999.

John Caulfield’s side are now unbeaten in their seven competitive games so far in 2015 after they defeated Waterford United 2-0 at the RSC to secure their place in the EA Sports Cup quarter-finals.

City, who fielded just two of the side — Ross Gaynor and Garry Buckley — that started Friday’s 3-0 league win over Derry City, were too strong for Waterford, with goals from Gaynor and Rob Lehane giving the visitors the win.

Despite a dominant first 45 minutes for the Leesiders, the sides were level at the break. However, Cork were awarded a penalty inside a minute of the restart when Mark O’Sullivan was brought down in the box by Waterford goalkeeper Robert Birsdall. Ross Gaynor stepped up to convert the penalty for his second goal of the season.

Although Waterford enjoyed more possession in the second-half following the 65th-minute sending-off of Cork midfielder Gavan Holohan for a second yellow card, the visitors put the result beyond doubt with 11 minutes remaining when Rob Lehane finished off a good move involving Gaynor and Kieran Djilali.

At the Showgrounds, Sligo Rovers’ dismal start to the season continued when they were beaten 2-0 after extra-time by Derry City, who remain on course for their sixth League Cup title in 11 seasons.

Sligo finished the 90 minutes with 10 men, having had Danny Ledwith sent off in the 77th minute — two minutes after he was introduced as a substitute — for a dangerous on Seanan Clucas.

Twelve minutes into extra-time, Seamus Sharkey gave Derry City the lead. Substitute Mark Timlin made it 2-0 with seven minutes left on the clock, as the Candystripes booked their place in the draw for the last eight.

Mark Timlin Mark Timlin scored Derry City's second at the Showgrounds. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Despite falling behind in the fourth minute at Eamonn Deacy Park, two-time winners Galway United will also be in the hat after their 4-2 win over Cockhill Celtic.

The non-league side took an early lead thanks to a spectacular 40-yard strike from Jimmy Bradley, but Andy O’Connell scored his first goal for Galway United to put them back on level terms in the 22nd minute.

The Tribesmen squandered a chance to take the lead just before half-time when Ryan Connolly had a penalty saved by Gavin Cullen, after O’Connell — who subsequently had to be substituted — was fouled. That left the score at 1-1 at the interval.

However, the Premier Division outfit took control in the second-half and surged into a 4-1 lead courtesy of a Padraic Cunningham brace and a header from Gary Shanahan. Mark Moran scored a consolation goal for Cockhill in added time.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Meanwhile, second-half goals from Brendan Miele and Sean O’Connor sent Shamrock Rovers through to the last eight via a 2-0 win over Cabinteely at Stradbrook.

Brandon Miele with Shane O'Neill Brendan Miele put Shamrock Rovers 2-0 up in Stradbrook. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

The First Division side held Rovers scoreless in the first-half but the Hoops found the breakthrough in the 58th minute when O’Connor headed home Rob Cornwall’s assist.

Miele doubled Rovers’advantage six minutes later when Cabinteely failed to clear O’Connnor’s corner, and the Tallaght side moved safely through to the quarter-finals.

EA Sports Cup second round results:

Waterford United 0-2 Cork City
Sligo Rovers 0-2 Derry City (AET)
Galway United 4-2 Cockhill Celtic
Cabinteely 0-2 Shamrock Rovers

Sligo Rovers have the opportunity of a lifetime for one lucky fan

Do you agree with our SSE Airtricity League team of the week?

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next: