Cian Dillon starts at full-back in one of 8 changes for the Clare hurlers

Jamie Shanahan also returns for the Banner’s clash with Limerick in the Munster Hurling League.

Clare full-back Cian Dillon.
Clare full-back Cian Dillon.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

AFTER STARTING THEIR season with a 12-point win over Kerry on Sunday, Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor have made eight changes in personnel for their second outing as joint Clare senior hurling managers.

The Banner County will take on Limerick at 7.30pm tomorrow night in Sixmilebridge in the Munster Hurling League.

Donal Tuohy starts in goal, while Shane McNamara, Cian Dillon — who’ll start as captain — and Jamie Shanahan come into the backline. Shanahan returns to the Clare side for the first time since leaving the panel at the end of the 2015 season.

Shane Golden is named at midfield alongside David Reidy, who notched 10 points from placed balls against Kerry. John Conlon, Peter Duggan and Cathal O’Connell are the new additions in attack.

Andrew Fahey, Eoin Quirke, Jason McCarthy, Conor Cleary, Brendan Bugler, Kevin Hehir, Podge Collins and Cathal McInerney are the eight players who make way from Sunday’s win.

Limerick, who suffered a 21-point defeat to Cork on Sunday, are due to announce their team at 6pm this evening.


1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)

2. Shane McNamara (Clooney-Quin)
3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen — captain)
4. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)

5. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)
6. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
7. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)

8. David Reidy (Éire Óg Inis)
9. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

10. John Conlon (Clonlara)
11. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
12. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)

13. Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara)
14. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
15. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)


16. Patrick Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona)
17. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley)
18. Stephen O’Halloran (Clarecastle)
19. Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
20. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
21. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
22. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)
23. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)
24. Kevin Hehir (Inagh-Kilnamona)
25. Conor O’Donnell (Crusheen)
26. Conor Ryan (Cratloe)

Mickey Harte: Playing inter-county football is not ‘a chore’

Earley set to replace Farrell as GPA chief executive

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next: