Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Friday 16 April 2021

3 uncapped players for England but some familiar faces return for Six Nations

Mike Williams, Nathan Catt and Alex Lozowski could all make their Test debut this season.

Nathan Catt has been called up to the England senior side.
Nathan Catt has been called up to the England senior side.
Image: David Davies

DEFENDING CHAMPIONS ENGLAND have named three uncapped players in their 34-man squad ahead of the opening round of the 2017 Six Nations.

In a squad of 20 forwards and 14 backs, Eddie Jones has given a first international call-up to backrow Mike Williams, prop Nathan Catt and back Alex Lozowski.

“I’ve been impressed with the three uncapped players named in the squad,” said Jones, announcing the squad today.

“They’re all guys who have great physical capabilities and they all have a desire to improve. With a number of injuries to some key players it’s a great opportunity for them.”

There are also returns to the England fold for James Haskell, Maro Itoje, Anthony Watson, Jack Clifford and Jack Nowell, who were unavailable for selection during the autumn.

“It’s good to welcome back a number of players who weren’t with us during the autumn,” said Jones.

This time last year I said that the long-term strategy for England is to develop a side who can be the most dominant team in world rugby. Obviously I’ve been pleased with how the team’s progressing, but there’s still plenty to improve on.”


Nathan Catt (Bath Rugby), Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Matt Mullan (Wasps), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Tommy Taylor (Wasps), Mike Williams (Leicester Tigers), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints).


Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Alex Lozowski (Saracens), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Marland Yarde (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Healy hungry to make his mark for Leinster as Six Nations comes into focus

Fiji head coach enters the fray to succeed Pat Lam in Connacht

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: