Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Sunday 7 March 2021

Cadogan back in the mix for Cork footballers ahead of Tipp clash

The All-Star nominee is in the Rebel County’s line-up for this weekend’s McGrath Cup quarter-final.

Eoin Cadogan gees up his teammates in last year's All-Ireland semi.
Eoin Cadogan gees up his teammates in last year's All-Ireland semi.
Image: ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

CORK DEFENDER EOIN CADOGAN has been named in Cork’s football team for Sunday’s McGrath Cup quarter-final against Tipperary.

The Douglas man has been named at full-back for the clash at Páirc Uí Rinn (2pm) having only recently returned from a stint of travelling in Australia.

Although Cadogan has not revealed whether he will focus solely on football in 2013, the announcement is a strong indication that he could be prepared to step away from his hurling commitments.

The last time the 26-year-old played for the footballers was in the All-Ireland semi-final defeat to eventual winners Donegal.

He was nominated for an All-Star and travelled with the All-Star panel to New York in November.

Sheehan returns

Other changes from last weeks win over CIT include Ken O’Halloran, Brian Shanahan (debutant), Ciarán Sheehan, Barry O’Driscoll and Donncha O’Connor come into the team.

Brian Shanahan has also been named in the half-back line and is set for his debut this weekend.

David Lordan, Sean Kiely, Conor O’Driscoll, Pearse O’Neill, Paul Kerrigan and Colm O’Neill are replaced.

Cork: K O’Halloran (Bishopstown); J McLoughlin (Kanturk), E Cadogan (Douglas), D Cahalane (Castlehaven); M Shields (St Finbarr’s), B Shanahan (Carbery Rangers), N O’Leary (Cill na Martra); A O’Connor (St Colum’s), A O’Sullivan (Castletownbere); J Fitzpatrick (Carbery Rangers), C Sheehan (Éire Óg), O Mulrooney (Douglas); B O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers), D O’Connor (Ballydesmond), L Shorten (Béal Áthan Ghaorthaidh).

Subs: D Lordan (Ballincollig), S Kiely (Macroom), C O’Driscoll (Ilen Rovers), P Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), P O’Neill (Aghada), D O’Sullivan (Ballinascarthy), F Goold (Macroom).

‘Black card rule would work but it’s the Sin Bin for me’ – Gavin

Conor Deegan: ‘Here is a young player who is passionate about the GAA’

About the author:

Patrick McCarry

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel