This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 11 July, 2020

Kilkenny's star goalkeeper returns to start for clash with Wexford

Eoin Murphy has been out since fracturing his knee in a club game.

KILKENNY’S STAR GOALKEEPER Eoin Murphy returns to the starting side for tomorrow’s trip to face Wexford in the Leinster hurling championship.

Eoin Murphy Eoin Murphy back between the posts tomorrow night for Kilkenny. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Murphy has recovered from the knee injury he suffered in club action for Glenmore in April to be named between the posts by manager Brian Cody. 

The 2016 and 2018 All-Star winning goalkeeper fractured a bone in his knee in that club match which has resulted in him missing Kilkenny’s Leinster campaign to date. Darren Brennan has deputised but he drops to the bench for tomorrow’s game in the only change from last Sunday’s loss to Galway in Nowlan Park.

Joey Holden, Cillian Buckley, Richie Hogan and Walter Walsh are all on the bench to ensure Kilkenny have a formidable range of replacements that they can call upon.


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels)
4. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)

5. Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own)
6. Pádraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
7. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)

8. Alan Murphy (Glenmore)
9. Richie Leahy (River Inistioge)

10. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
11. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
12. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

13. Bill Sheehan (Dicksboro)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)


16. Darren Brennan (St Lachtain’s)
17. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
18. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
19. Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge)
20. Conor Browne (James Stephens)
21. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
22. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)
23. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
24. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
25. James Maher (St Lachtain’s)
26. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel