Dublin: 24°C Saturday 13 August 2022

After an eventful night, here are the qualified teams that will play at Euro 2016

Turkey pulled off a massive coup and finished as the best third-placed side.

Image: AP/Press Association Images

THERE WAS SOME late drama and it had a pretty substantial effect as Turkey’s last-gasp winner over Iceland coupled with Kazakhstan’s victory over Latvia ensured the Turks claimed the best third-place spot.

For a long time it seemed Hungary had that place all sewn up but they’ll have to make do with a place in the play-offs.

Elsewhere, in Group B, Bosnia got the better of Cyprus after a scare while Belgium and Wales eased to wins over Israel and Andorra respectively.

In Group H, Norway seemed to have automatic qualification in the bag when they led Italy in Rome.

But two goals in the last 17 minutes from the hosts ensured Croatia finished as runners-up thanks to their 1-0 win over Malta.

So, here are the qualified teams that will compete at next summer’s tournament:

France (as hosts), Iceland, Czech Republic, Turkey (best third-place) Belgium, Wales, Spain, Slovakia, Germany, Poland, England, Switzerland, Northern Ireland, Romania, Austria, Russia, Italy, Croatia, Portugal, Albania

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member


Seeded: Ukraine, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Sweden, Hungary

Unseeded: Norway, Slovenia, Denmark, Republic of Ireland

Netherlands suffer huge embarrassment and fail to make Euros for first time in over 30 years

Here are the four teams the Republic of Ireland could face in the Euro 2016 play-off draw

About the author:

Eoin O'Callaghan

Read next: