Dublin: 16°C Saturday 28 May 2022

Four-midable St Michael's clinch the FAI Junior Cup final

John Delaney will be a happy man as his former club defeated Ballynanty Rovers 4-0 at the Aviva Stadium.

St Michael's team celebrate with the trophy Winners St Michael's with their medals. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

St Michael’s 4-0 Ballynanty Rovers

TIPPERARY CLUB ST Michael’s FC have won the FAI Junior Cup final for a second time in their history with a 4-0 victory over Ballynanty Rovers of Limerick.

After seeing off reigning champions Sheriff YC in the semi-finals, the Saints went into the tie as favourites at the Aviva Stadium this afternoon.

Pat Quinn and Darragh Hughes St Michael's Pat Quinn and Darragh Hughes of Ballynanty Rovers. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

David Slattery opened the scoring for Jason Purcell’s side on 20 minutes with a header before and Pat Quinn added a second on 66 minutes and Jimmy Carr grabbed a late double.

James Walsh celebrates with the trophy James 'Chalky' Walsh gets his hands on the trophy. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Having been crowned champions for the first time in 1974, St Michael’s went on to lose the final on four occasions – in 2000, 2002, 2010 and 2011.

St Michael’s: Aaron Wall, Chris Higgins, Brian Buckley, Paul Breen, James ‘Chalky’ Walsh (c), Thomas Fahy, Richard Ryan, Pat Quinn, David Slattery, Russell Quirke, Jimmy Carr.

Subs: Mark Lowry, Colin Bargary, Paul Tobin, John O’Brien, Darren Lynch, Michael Buckley, Michael Ryan.

Ballynanty Rovers: Stephen McNamara (c), Darragh Hughes, Shane Doran, Kenneth Meehan, Tom Daly, Ronan Ryan, David Dunphy, Dermot Fitzgerald, Alex Purcell, Brian Doran, Tony Fahy.

Subs: Jamie Bromwell, Eddie Radcliffe, Derek Hanlon, Frank Lee, Ryan Earls, Dean O’Brien, Danny McInerney.

15 years on: Remembering Ireland’s play-off heartbreak against Turkey

This is the new jersey Ireland will wear against Turkey today

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel