This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 17 October, 2019

Here’s how Martin O’Neill and Seamus Coleman voted in Fifa's best player of the year awards

Luka Modric landed the individual honour last night.

Ireland captain Seamus Coleman and manager Martin O'Neill.
Ireland captain Seamus Coleman and manager Martin O'Neill.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

CROATIAN STAR LUKA Modric was last night crowned Fifa’s best player of the year with Ireland captain Seamus Coleman backing the winner in his vote for the award but the Real Madrid midfielder did not feature in manager Martin O’Neill’s top three. 

Modric was Coleman’s first selection ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi. O’Neill gave his first vote to Messi with Ronaldo in second and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah in third.

Irish media representative Philip Quinn chose French World Cup winner Kylian Mbappé ahead of the Real Madrid duo of Raphael Varane and Modric.

England boss Gareth Southgate, Welsh manager Ryan Giggs and Welsh captain Ashley Williams all voted Modric as their number one as well. 

Salah got the top vote from Northern Ireland boss Michael O’Neill, his team captain Steven Davis and Scottish manager Alex McLeish. 

England captain Harry Kane went for Ronaldo as his number with Scottish captain Charlie Mulgrew choosing Kevin de Bruyne.

Full details here on the breakdown of votes.

Fifa Best Player of the Year Awards 2018

Martin O’Neill: 1. Lionel Messi, 2. Cristiano Ronaldo, 3. Mohamed Salah

Seamus Coleman: 1. Luka Modric, 2. Cristiano Ronaldo, 3. Lionel Messi 

Philip Quinn (Irish media vote): 1. Kylian Mbappé 2. Raphael Varane 3. Luka Modric

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel