Dublin: 11°C Monday 20 September 2021

Who did Ireland's representatives vote for in Fifa's Best Player award?

Each international captain and manager is given a say along with one member of the media.

Coleman alongside O'Neill in Cardiff earlier this month.
Coleman alongside O'Neill in Cardiff earlier this month.
Image: Nick Potts

CRISTIANO RONALDO WAS last night crowned Best Fifa Men’s Player of the Year — beating off competition from Lionel Messi and Neymar.

The international managers and captains of every Fifa member gets to vote for the award, along with one member of the media from each nation.

They are instructed to put down their three top picks, which are then tallied up. The players are not allowed to vote for themselves, but choosing a club or international team-mate is permitted.

Each year, the list makes for interesting reading and the latest results are no exception. While Ireland boss Martin O’Neill, skipper Seamus Coleman and journalist Philip Quinn of the Irish Daily Mail all gave their number one vote to the eventual winner, they differ elsewhere.

Coleman and O’Neill both have Messi second, but the former then chooses Juventus and Argentina forward Paulo Dybala, while the latter opts for Chelsea’s Belgian attacker Eden Hazard.

Quinn, meanwhile, has gone for Bayern Munich and Poland striker Robert Lewandowski as runner-up, and Real Madrid’s Croatian midfielder Luka Modric in third.

Seamus Coleman: 1) Cristiano Ronaldo 2) Lionel Messi 3) Paulo Dybala


Martin O’Neill: 1) Cristiano Ronaldo 2) Lionel Messi 3) Eden Hazard


Philip Quinn: 1) Cristiano Ronaldo 2) Robert Lewandowski 3) Luka Modric

See the full list of votes here


Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

‘At the moment, if Martin fell in muck he’d still smell of Old Spice. I think we’re going to qualify’

‘It was an incredible feeling’: From All-Ireland championships to an international debut

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel