This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Saturday 22 February, 2020

Contentious penalty puts hosts France on brink of last 16 despite mind-boggling own goal

Eugenie Le Sommer kept her cool from the spot to steer Les Bleus towards the next phase.

EUGENIE LE SOMMER’S controversial penalty spared Wendie Renard’s blushes after a calamitous own goal, as Women’s World Cup hosts France beat Norway 2-1 to effectively seal a spot in the knockout phase.

The entertaining contest was unsurprisingly even after the two sides cruised to wins in their respective opening matches, but France just about did enough to leave themselves on the brink of qualification, with Le Sommer’s crucial spot kick the difference.

Although the host nation struggled at times in the first half, they rode the Norway storm and took full advantage right after half-time through the lively Valerie Gauvin.

Renard put into her own net soon after, but France remained focused and Le Sommer coolly dispatched a penalty, though Norway were convinced they were harshly penalised after the spot-kick was awarded following a VAR review.

Norway enjoyed a purposeful start and went desperately close in the 14th minute, but Ingrid Syrstad Engen’s near-post flick-on at a corner was crucially cleared off the line and over the crossbar by Amel Majri.

France responded and almost found the net through Gauvin soon after, but her back-heel from Kadidiatou Diani did not have enough power to beat Ingrid Hjelmseth.

Norway finished the half strongest, with Sarah Bouhaddi making a save to deny Ingrid Moe Wold, but France opened the scoring less than a minute after the interval – Gauvin meeting Majri’s left-wing cross and firing beneath Hjelmseth.

A calamitous own goal courtesy of Renard eight minutes later wiped out the lead, however, as the Lyon star tapped into her own net from Isabell Herlovsen’s low cross.

But Le Sommer bailed her out 18 minutes from time after Engen was adjudged to have followed through on Marion Torrent, the converted penalty leaving France with six points from two games, almost certainly enough to see them into the next round.

Was it a penalty?

Poll Results:

Never a penalty (861)
I've seen them given (620)
Stone-waller (515)

- Omni

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel