Tuesday 31 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Bryan Keane/INPHO Kerry and Galway contested this year's All-Ireland final.
# Stars Of The Show
12 for Kerry and 8 for Galway as 11 counties feature in All-Star football nominations
Derry, Dublin, Armagh, Cork, Limerick, Kildare, Monaghan, Mayo and Clare all have nominees.

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Kerry lead the way with 12 players on the list of nominations for the 2022 PwC GAA-GPA All-Star football awards.

Jack O’Connor’s triumphant team are the dominant presence on the 45-player shortlist for the 2022 awards, which will take place on Friday 28 October.

Eleven counties have players nominated with beaten All-Ireland finalists Galway having eight players in contention. Ulster champions Derry have seven nominees and Leinster kingpins Dublin have six players included with five from Kieran McGeeney’s Armagh and two from Cork.

Limerick’s Cian Sheehan, Mayo’s Lee Keegan, Kildare’s Ben McCormack, Monaghan’s Jack McCarron and Clare’s Eoin Cleary complete the list.

There are five players from the 2021 team nominated here in the Kerry trio of David and Paudie Clifford, and Tom O’Sullivan, Mayo’s Lee Keegan and Dublin’s Ciarán Kilkenny.

Here’s the full list:

2022 All-Star Football Nominees


  • Ethan Rafferty (Armagh)
  • Shane Ryan (Kerry)
  • Evan Comerford (Dublin)


  • Jason Foley (Kerry)
  • Tadgh Morley (Kerry)
  • Brian Ó Beaglaoich (Kerry)
  • Graham O’Sullivan (Kerry)
  • Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)
  • Gavin White (Kerry)
  • Lee Keegan (Mayo)
  • Liam Silke (Galway)
  • Sean Kelly (Galway)
  • John Daly (Galway)
  • Brendan Rodgers (Derry)
  • Chrissy McKaigue (Derry)
  • Conor McCluskey (Derry)
  • Jarly Óg Burns (Armagh)
  • Lee Gannon (Dublin)
  • James McCarthy (Dublin)
  • Cian Sheehan (Limerick)
  • Sean Powter (Cork)


  • Brian Fenton (Dublin)
  • Paul Conroy (Galway)
  • Cillian McDaid (Galway)
  • Conor Glass (Derry)
  • Gareth McKinless (Derry)
  • Jack Barry (Kerry)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


  • David Clifford (Kerry)
  • Sean O’Shea (Kerry)
  • Paudie Clifford (Kerry)
  • Stephen O’Brien (Kerry)
  • Shane Walsh (Galway)
  • Damian Comer (Galway)
  • Robert Finnerty (Galway)
  • Shane McGuigan (Derry)
  • Ethan Doherty (Derry)
  • Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
  • Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)
  • Eoin Cleary (Clare)
  • Ben McCormack (Kildare)
  • Jack McCarron (Monaghan)
  • Riain O’Neill (Armagh)
  • Stefan Campbell (Armagh)
  • Rory Grugan (Armagh)
  • Steven Sherlock (Cork)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel