Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
INPHO Who will be the 2022 Hurler of the Year?
# Leading Light
Limerick duo and Kilkenny star make shortlist for 2022 Hurler of the Year
Byrnes, Reid and Nash are in contention for the honour.

DIARMAID BYRNES, TJ Reid and Barry Nash are the nominees for this year’s GAA-GPA Hurler of the Year award.

Limerick pair Byrnes and Nash were defensive stars as John Kiely’s team completed three-in-a-row in July in the All-Ireland senior hurling final. Patrickswell club man Byrnes has been an All-Star for the last two seasons while South Liberties player Nash was a first-time All-Star in 2021.

Kilkenny great Reid is a five-time All-Star winner (2012, 2014, 2015, 2019 and 2020). The Ballyhale Shamrocks player was Hurler of the Year in 2015, while he was also nominated for the honour in 2014 and 2019.

His 2015 success was the last time a Kilkenny player collected this accolade while Cian Lynch (2018 and 2021) and Gearóid Hegarty (2020) are the recent Limerick victors.

The nominees were decided by a panel of Gaelic Games media correspondents and the committee was chaired by GAA President Larry McCarthy. The award will be voted on exclusively by inter-county players.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel