Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Sunday 16 May 2021

Hurling league quarter-finals scheduled with 20 matches in store in GAA fixture list next Saturday

Six teams will be bidding to join Limerick at the semi-final stage.

Clare's Donal Tuohy and Waterford's Michael Brick Walsh will be in opposition on Saturday.
Clare's Donal Tuohy and Waterford's Michael Brick Walsh will be in opposition on Saturday.
Image: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

THE GAA HAVE finalised the fixture details for next weekend’s Allianz Division 1 hurling league quarter-finals with the three remaining ties at that stage slotted in for Saturday afternoon.

Galway will face Wexford in Pearse Stadium at 1.30pm, the curtain-raiser to the meeting of the footballers of Galway and Roscommon at the Salthill venue at 3.30pm.

Waterford will entertain Clare in Walsh Park at 3pm while Tipperary host Dublin in Semple Stadium at 4.30pm.

The play-off between Kilkenny and Cork to determine who will finish 5th or 6th in Division 1A will be held in Nowlan Park at 2pm. The winners of that play-off will be in action in Group A of the hurling league in 2020 with the losers operating in Group B next year.

The scheduling means there will be a hectic 20-match programme of fixtures on Saturday with the four hurling ties to be held along with a full round of football league fixtures. 

Sunday will see the All-Ireland club finals take centre stage in Croke Park for St Patrick’s Day.

Galway’s St Thomas face Kilkenny’s Ballyhale Shamrocks in the hurling decider while Kerry’s Dr Crokes meet Galway’s Corofin in the football final.

AIB GAA Club Championship All-Ireland Finals Media Day Corofin's Martin Farragher, Dr Crokes' Gavin White, St Thomas player Conor Cooney and Ballyhale's Joey Holden ahead of the All-Ireland club finals. Source: Stephen McCarthy/SPORTSFILE

Here’s the full list of the St Patrick’s weekend fixtures:


Football League

Division 1

  • Monaghan v Cavan, Clones, 2pm
  • Galway v Roscommon, Pearse Stadium, 3.30pm
  • Dublin v Tyrone, Croke Park, 7pm, (eir Sports)
  • Kerry v Mayo, Austin Stack Park, Tralee, 7pm, (eir Sports)

Division 2

  • Clare v Meath, Cusack Park, Ennis, 1.30pm
  • Cork v Donegal, Páirc Uí Rinn, 2pm
  • Kildare v Tipperary, Newbridge, 2.30pm
  • Armagh v Fermanagh, Crossmaglen, 3pm

Division 3

  • Longford v Sligo, Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, 2pm
  • Louth v Westmeath, Drogheda, 2pm
  • Offaly v Laois, Tullamore, 2pm
  • Carlow v Down, Netwatch Cullen Park, 3pm

Division 4

  • London v Waterford, Ruislip, 12.30pm
  • Antrim v Wicklow, Corrigan Park, 2pm
  • Wexford v Limerick, Innovate Wexford Park, 3pm
  • Derry v Leitrim, Celtic Park, 4pm

Hurling League


  • Galway v Wexford, Pearse Stadium, Salthill, 1.30pm
  • Waterford v Clare, Walsh Park, 3pm
  • Tipperary v Dublin, Semple Stadium, Thurles, 4.30pm

Relegation play-off

  • Kilkenny v Cork, Nowlan Park, 2pm


All-Ireland SHC club final

  • Ballyhale Shamrocks (Kilkenny) v St Thomas (Galway), Croke Park, 2pm (TG4)

All-Ireland SFC club final

  • Corofin (Galway) v Dr Crokes (Kerry), Croke Park, 3.45pm, (TG4)

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel