# Watching On
13 GAA players that we found out in January won't be in inter-county action in 2016
Stars from all over the country will be marked absent.


For different reasons, it emerged over the last month that various inter-county stars will not be in action as the 2016 GAA season commences.

Here’s the group that we will not be seeing on the inter-county stage.

13 GAA players that we found out in January won't be in inter-county action in 2016
1 / 13
  • Brian Carroll (Offaly)

    The Coolderry club man retired this month after 14 season with the Faithful senior squad. One of the highest-rated players operating outside the elite counties.Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Brian Murphy (Cork)

    A two-time All-Ireland senior winner, Murphy came out of retirement for Cork last summer but has now departed again.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Donal O'Grady (Limerick)

    O'Grady, who retired a couple of weeks ago, was a long-serving star for Limerick and he enjoyed glory as the 2013 Munster title winning captain.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Graeme Molloy (Wexford)

    Another player whose career was curtailed by injury, Wexford's defensive stalwart hung up his boots last week.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Ger Aylward (Kilkenny)

    Kilkenny's Aylward suffered cruciate heartache, when he sustained the injury playing for his club Glenmore in the All-Ireland junior semi-final.Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO
  • James Stafford (Wicklow)

    Another player from the lesser lights in Leinster, was central to Wicklow's great qualifier run in 2009.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Jamie Clarke (Armagh)

    Armagh boss Kieran McGeeney confirmed that Clarke will head Stateside when Crossmaglen's club campaign ends.Source: Presseye/Declan Roughan/INPHO
  • John Hayes (Cork)

    Rebels boss Peadar Healy confirmed last weekend that Carbery Rangers attacker Hayes had retired. Won an All-Ireland senior medal in 2010.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Owen Lennon (Monaghan)

    Latton man Lennon retired after 15 seasons as a Monaghan senior. Captain for that breakthrough Ulster victory in 2013, he won his second provincial medal last summer.Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO
  • Richie Power (Kilkenny)

    An eight-time All-Ireland senior winner, Power retired after a decorated Kilkenny career. Injuries hastened his departure.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Rory O'Carroll (Dublin)

    A three-time All-Ireland winner and 2015 Allstar, it was announced earlier this month that O'Carroll is putting his career in hiatus and going travelling to New Zealand.Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Paul Galvin (Kerry)

    It had been suspected since the 2015 season ended and Eamonn Fitzmaurice confirmed earlier this month that Paul Galvin has retired from Kerry for a second time.Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Patrick Donnellan (Clare)

    Donnellan's season looks to be over after he tore his cruciate in a recent challenge game for Clare against Munster club champions Na Piarsaigh.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Tipp legend English steers UCD to Fitzgibbon Cup victory away to UCC

Defending champions UL off to winning start in Fitzgibbon Cup opener