Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Monday 10 May 2021

Galway end 29 years of hurt as they lift All-Ireland crown with win over Waterford

The Tribesmen can finally celebrate.

David Burke lifts The Liam McCarthy Cup Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Galway 0-26
Waterford 2-17

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

THE 29-YEAR WAIT for the Liam MacCarthy Cup to head west is over.

Galway have been All-Ireland senior hurling favourites throughout this summer and they lived up to that billing in style today to end their barren spell.

Conor Whelan and Jonathan Glynn with Barry Coughlan and Tadhg De Burca Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The Tribesmen were rocked by the concession of first-half goals to Kevin Moran and Kieran Bennett but their superior shooting from distance propelled them over the line in the second half.

Mícheál Donoghue’s side made amends for their final losses in 2012 and 2015, making sure they finished the job off in the second half here when they were in a winning position.

They did so after a game where they started wonderfully to hit four points without replay and scored from their opening nine shots of the game. But Waterford managed to bag two first-half goals, Kevin Moran drilling a shot to the net in the 4th minute and Kieran Bennett’s long delivery deceiving goalkeeper Colm Callanan in the 21st minute.

At the break Galway were ahead 0-14 to 2-7 but Waterford got the better of the early second-half scoring exchanges. Pauric Mahony’s free nudged them in front 2-12 to 0-17 by the 47th minute.

Then Galway responded magnificently. Substitutes Niall Burke and Jason Flynn made a real impression as they went 0-21 to 2-12 clear.

Waterford countered again, Tommy Ryan and Brian O’Halloran providing a spark for them off the bench, before Galway stood up once more as they clung to a 0-22 to 2-15 lead with ten minutes remaining.

They outscored Waterford 0-4 to 0-2 in the finale with captain David Burke in wonderful form as they finally delivered the Liam MacCarthy Cup.

Scorers for Galway: Joe Canning 0-9 (0-6f, 0-1 sideline), David Burke 0-4, Conor Cooney 0-3, Cathal Mannion, Joseph Cooney, Niall Burke, Jason Flynn 0-2 each, Johnny Coen, Conor Whelan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-11 (0-8f), Kevin Moran 1-1, Kieran Bennett 1-0, Jamie Barron 0-2, Michael Walsh, Tommy Ryan, Brian O’Halloran 0-1 each.


1. Colm Callanan (Kinvara)

2. Adrian Tuohy (Beagh)
3. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

5. Padraic Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
6. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore/Maree)
4. John Hanbury (Rahoon.Newcastle)

8. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
9. David Burke (St Thomas – captain)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
15. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
11. Joe Canning (Portumna)

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
12. Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan)
14. Conor Cooney (St. Thomas)


20. Niall Burke (Oranmore-Maree) for Glynn (43)
22. Jason Flynn (Tommie Larkins) for Cathal Mannion (55)
24. Shane Moloney (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry) for David Burke (69)


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)

7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
18. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)
15. Darragh Fives (Tourin)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)

12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)
13. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)


21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore) for Shane Bennett (inj) (22)
20. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore-Kinsalebeg) for Dillon (48)
19. Tommy Ryan (Tallow) for Walsh (56)
23. Colin Dunford (Colligan) for Barron (65)
22. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan) for Kieran Bennett (65)

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Canning man-of-the-match as Galway lift All-Ireland minor title with win over Cork

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel