Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 5°C
Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO Damien Comer and Thomas Flynn celebrate the winning goal in the Connacht semi-final
# starting XV
This is the Galway team hoping to win the county's first Connacht senior football title in 8 years
Galway face Roscommon on Sunday in Salthill.

GALWAY BOSS KEVIN Walsh has named the team that he hopes will land the county’s first Connacht senior football title since 2008.

It’s eight years since Galway last won out in their province, when they defeated Mayo by 2-12 to 1-14.

They stunned Mayo in last month’s semi-final to end their aspirations for a sixth successive Connacht senior crown.

And Walsh has kept faith with the side that started that game in Castlebar for Sunday’s clash with Roscommon in Pearse Stadium.

There are only seven survivors from the Galway team that featured in the 2014 Connacht final in Gareth Bradshaw, Gary O’Donnell, Paul Conroy, Thomas Flynn, Damien Comer, Shane Walsh and Danny Cummins.

Throw-in in Salthill on Sunday is 2pm.


1. Bernard Power (Corofin)

2. Eoghan Kerin (Annaghdown)
3. Declan Kyne (Clonbur)
4. David Wynne (Moycullen)

5. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)
6. Liam Silke (Corofin)
7. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars – captain)

8. Paul Conroy (St. James’)
9. Thomas Flynn (Athenry)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

10. Gary Sice (Corofin)
11. Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
12. Johnny Heaney (Killannin)

13. Eamonn Brannigan (St Michaels)
14. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin-Clonberne)
15. Danny Cummins (Claregalway)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!