Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
# Cruise Control
Galway defeat Dublin by 15 points to book third All-Ireland minor final in four years
Donal O’Shea posted 0-12 for the victors.

Galway 3-22

Dublin 0-16

Kevin O’Brien reports from Croke Park

GALWAY ARE BACK in their fourth All-Ireland minor hurling final since 2013 after a comfortable 15-point semi-final win over Dublin this afternoon.

Iain O Heither with Jason O'Donoghue Tommy Dickson / INPHO Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

Full-forward Donal O’Shea, the son of former Tipperary manager Eamon, notched 12 points as they eased past the Leinster champions. They’ll find out their final opponents tomorrow after Kilkenny meet Tipperary in the other last four clash.

Dublin competed well for the first 30 minutes or so but a Niall Collins goal right on the half-time whistle left Galway three in front. They blitzed Dublin after the break, outscoring them by 2-12 to 0-6 in the second-half to book a place in the final.

Tribe boss Jeffrey Lynskey is in his fourth year in charge of the county side and has brought them to a third All-Ireland final, having delivered titles in 2015 and 2017.

Eoin Carney and Adam Brett Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

This was the first meeting of Dublin and Galway at minor level in Croke Park since the 2011 final, when the Connacht side beat a Sky Blues team containing names like Ciaran Kilkenny and Cormac Costello.

A cagey first-half saw both sides largely rely on their free-takers for scores. Just eight of the 21 points were scored from play in the opening period as Dublin’s Liam Dunne  and Galway’s O’Shea scored 12 placed balls between them.

Galway deservedly led by 1-10 to 0-10 at the break. Dublin’s tactic of delivering high ball into rangey full-forward Luke Swan paid dividends early on but it became more predictable as the half went on.

Castleknock youngster Luke Swan completed two hat-tricks so far this summer, but he was crowded out by the Galway defence whenever Dublin launched aerial ball inside.

The Tribesmen had a goal chance in the 28th minute but Sean McDonagh’s shot was deflected out for a 65. On the stroke of half-time they finally hit the net through a well-taken finish from Niall Collins.

Finn Murphy and Dean Reilly Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

Galway were 1-14 to 0-12 in front in the 40th minute, but they closed the game out with a devastating burst of 2-3 over the next 10 minutes.

Adam Brett scored Galway’s second goal after an error from Patrick Rabbitte and Dean Reilly swept home the third a minute later. Dunne, Aaron O’Toole and Daragh McLoughney pulled back scores for Dublin but Galway coasted home with Diarmuid Kilcommins, Jason O’Donoghue and Oisin Flannery all adding their names to the scoreboard.

Scorers for Galway: Donal O’Shea 0-12 (0-11f, 0-1 65), Dean Reilly 1-3, Niall Collins 1-2, Adam Brett 1-1, Diarmuid Kilcommins 0-2, Jason O’Donoghue and Oisin Flannery 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: Liam Dunne 0-10 (0-10f), Conor Murray, Pearce Christie, Ciaran Foley, Dara Purcell, Aaron O’Toole and Daragh McLoughney 0-1 each.


1. Patrick Rabbitte (Athenry)

2. Michael Flynn (Ballygar)
3. Shane Jennings (Bllinasloe)
4. Oisin Salmon (Clarinbridge)

5. Shane Quirke (Athenry)
6. Séan Neary (Castlegar) (captain)
7. Evan Duggan (St Thomas)

8. Jason O’Donoghue (Gort)
9. Oisín Flannery (St Thomas)

10. Diarmuid Kilcommins (Annaghdown)
11. Sean McDonagh (Mountbellew/Moylough)
12. Adam Brett (Cill Iomair Dalaigh)

13. Niall Collins (Ceapach an tSeagail)
14. Donal O’Shea (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
15. Dean Reilly (Pádraig Pearses)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


24. Oisin Flannery (Padraig Pearses) for McDonagh (41)
23. Keelan Creaven (Saighleain) for Collins (52)
19. Colm Cunningham (Na Pairsealaigh) for Flannery (57)
17. Ian McGlynn (Cill Chon Iarainn) for Duggan (57)
22. Connell Keane (Beithe) for Reilly (60)


1. Jack Lambert (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

2. Kevin Byrne (Clontarf)
3. Ciaran Hogan (St Jude’s)
4. Finn Murphy (Naomh Olaf)

5. Eoin Carney (Erins Isle)
6. Alex O’Neill (Round Towers, Clondalkin)
7. Ian O hEithir (Ballinteer St John’s)

8. Donal Leavy (Naomh Olaf)
9. Darragh Power (Fingallians)

10. Conor Murray (Castleknock)
11. Pearce Christie (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
12. Ciaran Foley (Naomh Olaf)

13. Liam Dunne (Raheny)
14. Luke Swan (Castleknock)
15. Dara Purcell (Kilmacud Crokes)


23. Seamus Fenton (Ballinteer St John’s) for Purcell (40)
17. Daragh McLoughney (St Sylvester’s) for Christie (42)
22. Aaron O’Toole (Kilmacud Crokes) for Murray (48)
21. Sean Foran (Whitehall Colmcille) for Hogan (59)

Referee: Patrick Murphy (Carlow)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel