Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 4°C Monday 1 March 2021

Flynn fires two goals as Galway hand out 16-point beating to Tipperary in league final

Cathal Mannion struck the third goal as the Tribesmen triumphed.

Galway's Daithi Burke and Tipperary's John McGrath battle for possession.
Galway's Daithi Burke and Tipperary's John McGrath battle for possession.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Galway 3-21
Tipperary 0-14

Fintan O’Toole reports from the Gaelic Grounds

GALWAY DELIVERED A hugely dominant display against Tipperary to claim the Allianz Division 1 hurling league title this afternoon at the Gaelic Grounds.

Jason Flynn fired home two second-half goals for the winners while Cathal Mannion pounced for a third in the 67th minute as the Tribesmen stormed to victory.

Joe Canning contributed 0-9 on a day when Galway became the third successive team from Division 1B to claim the hurling league title.

All-Ireland champions Tipperary endured a dreadful day at the office, trailing 0-11 to 0-5 at the interval and never managing to hit full speed before 16,089 spectators at the Limerick venue.

Michael Ryan’s side struck the opening point of the game courtesy of a John McGrath free but that was soon cancelled out by Aidan Harte and Tipperary were never in front on the scoreboard again.

The sides were tied at 0-3 apiece after 15 minutes before Galway started to rule the game and indeed were it not for 11 first-half wides, they would have enjoyed a healthier cushion at the break.

Tipperary were also grateful to an excellent point-blank save by Darren Gleeson to deny Jason Flynn from hitting the net in the opening period but the Tommie Larkins man made amends straight after the interval when he raised a green flag.

With Canning and Conor Whelan scoring freely, Galway piled the pressure on the Tipperary rearguard. They were 1-17 to 0-11 clear when Flynn killed the match as a contest as he registered his second goal in the 57th minute.

Galway stormed further ahead in the closing stages to outscore Tipperary in the finale by 1-4 to 0-3. Patrick Bonner Maher was sprung from the bench and smashed a late shot against the crossbar, while John McGrath was denied from the rebound.

There was no disputing Galway’s superiority on a day when they landed the county’s 10th hurling league title.

Niall Burke and Conor Whelan with Cathal Barrett Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Scorers for Galway: Joe Canning 0-9 (0-3f, 0-2 ’65), Jason Flynn 2-1, Conor Whelan 0-5, Cathal Mannion 1-1, Aidan Harte 0-2, Johnny Coen, David Burke, Thomas Monaghan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: John McGrath 0-6 (0-5f), Noel McGrath, Michael Breen, Ronan Maher (0-2f) 0-2 each, John O’Dwyer (0-1f), Brendan Maher 0-1 each.


1. Colm Callanan (Kinvara)

2. Adrian Tuohy (Beagh)
3. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)
4. Paul Killeen (Tynagh Abbey Duniry)

7. Aidan Harte (Gort)
6. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree)
5. Padraig Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

8. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
9. David Burke (St Thomas)

14. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
11. Joe Canning (Portumna)
12. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)

10. Jason Flynn (Tommie Larkins)
24. Niall Burke (Oranmore-Maree)
13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)


27. Johnny Glynn (Ardrahan) for Canning (62)
17. John Hanbury (Rahoon-Newcastle) for Daithi Burke (65)
15. Cyril Donnellan (Padraig Pearses) for Niall Burke (68)
25. Thomas Monaghan (Craughwell) for Flynn (69)
19. Sean Loftus (Turloughmore) for Kileen (70)


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Seamus Kennedy (St. Marys)
6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Padraic Maher (captain) (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
9. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Michael Breen (Ballina)
12. Steven O’Brien (Ballina)

13. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)


25. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane McDonaghs) for O’Brien (32)
22. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha) for O’Dwyer (55)
20. Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy) for Cahill (60)
19. Paul Flynn (Kiladangan) for Forde (60)

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

The Brian Mullins era at St Vincent’s begins with a 15-point hammering of Round Towers

Neil McManus grabs 1-13 in Antrim’s thrilling extra-time win over Carlow

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: