Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
# Full Steam Ahead
Finally the Galway hurling championship can continue after Turloughmore's last appeal fails
The controversy has hung over the Tribesmen club scene in recent weeks.

Portumna players celebrate with the Tom Callanan cup Mike Shaughnessy The Portumna players celebrating last year's Galway title win. Mike Shaughnessy

THE LONG DELAY to the Galway senior hurling championship is finally at an end after Turloughmore’s final appeal against their expulsion from the competition failed last night.

An official statement on the Galway GAA website this morning, confirmed the decision that was made in Mullingar last night.

The statement reads:

“At a hearing before the Disputes Resolution Authority Tribunal, held in Mullingar on Monday evening, 17th November 2014, the appeal of CLG Turloughmore against the decision of the Galway Competitions Control Committee was unsuccessful.”This allows the Galway Senior Hurling Championship to recommence immediately.”

Turloughmore were ejected from the competition in early October for fielding an ineligible player. The decision involves former Galway minor and U21 hurler Matthew Keating, who played in New York during the summer. There was a technical breach with an inter-county transfer used instead of a sanction.

Sean Phelan and Matthew Keating Morgan Treacy / INPHO Matthew Keating (right) in action in the 2008 All-Ireland minor final. Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

Keating was granted an inter-county transfer and played for Long Island Gaels in the United States. The other type of transfer used by players who go to the United States or Canada is known as a sanction and allows them to return and play with their clubs in Ireland.

The dispute has dragged on in recent weeks with Turloughmore appealing the decision to the Galway county board, the Connacht Council and the DRA. Last night’s decision draws a line under the long-running saga and will allow the Galway championship to finally recommence.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Reigning county and All-Ireland champions Portumna – who have won six of the last 11 county titles – have already qualified for this year’s final. They won their semi-final tie against Craughwell by 1-15 to 0-15 back on 12 October in Athenry.

They’ll have to wait a while to discover the identity of their final opponents though. Ardrahan and Beagh must now play in a quarter-final next Sunday afternoon in Athenry at 2pm. The winners there are set to face 2011 champions Gort at the semi-final stage. Gort won their quarter-final tie back on 28 September against Killimordaly.

Gort players celebrate winning the Galway County final Mike Shaughnessy / INPHO Gort players celebrate winning the 2011 Galway county final. Mike Shaughnessy / INPHO / INPHO

Want to know about Henry Shefflin’s Kilkenny future? Wait until Ballyhale’s season ends

Tomás Mulcahy, Frank Murphy and Gerald McCarthy pay tribute to the late Canon O’Brien

Your Voice
Readers Comments