Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 12°C
INPHO Johnny Glynn and Tadhg de Búrca both handed starting spots.
# starting XV
Glynn to start for Galway for first time in two years as Waterford bring back de Búrca
Both teams have made a single change before Sunday’s All-Ireland final.

JOHNNY GLYNN WILL make his first start for Galway in two years after being dramatically brought into the team for Sunday’s All-Ireland senior hurling final.

Glynn last started for the Tribesmen in the final loss to Kilkenny two years ago, moving to New York before the start of the 2016 season.

But the Ardrahan man has been named at left half-forward by the Galway management with Niall Burke losing out in the only change from the semi-final win over Tipperary.

Waterford have made a single change also with Tadhg de Búrca returning in defence after missing the success against Cork through suspension.

He replaces another player who is banned with Conor Gleeson missing out after being shown a red card in that victory against the Rebels.


1. Colm Callanan (Kinvara)

2. Adrian Tuohy (Beagh)
3. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)
4. John Hanbury (Rahoon/Newcastle)

5. Padraic Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
6. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore/Maree)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

8. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
9. David Burke (St Thomas – captain)

10. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
11. Joe Canning (Portumna)
12. Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan)

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
14. Conor Cooney (St. Thomas)
15. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
18. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)

13. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
15. Darragh Fives (Tourin)

The42 Podcasts / SoundCloud

‘The over-reliance on Joe Canning is gone and I’m just about giving the nod to Galway in a very tight game’

‘At the time I was kind of in a happy bubble. Then I got brought down to earth fairly quick’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel