This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 22 February, 2019

Tribesmen get the better of Laois to secure All-Ireland minor football last-four spot

Galway had a seven-point victory at O’Connor Park.

Galway goalscorer Ryan Forde.
Galway goalscorer Ryan Forde.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Galway 3-10

Laois 0-12

GALWAY ADVANCED TO the semi-finals of the All-Ireland minor football championship by a deceptively-large seven-point margin at O’Connor Park in Tullamore this afternoon — their victory secured by their superior ability to convert goal chances in a wide-open contest.

Five clear-cut chances to raise green flags were created by the young Tribesmen, three of which were finished to the net, while at the other end goalkeeper Cormac Haslam was in inspired form, producing a series of excellent saves.

Laois also pulled three shots wide of the target from inside the penalty area and wasted a late spot-kick, misses which ultimately cost them their chance of pulling off a shock win.

Galway played with the wind in the first half and while they struggled badly at midfield, losing out to the greater fielding power of Max Connolly and Robert Tyrell, they were extremely clinical up front.

Despite not having key wing forward Barry Goldrick available after he suffered a broken leg during the week, they were incredibly sharp, with their inside line duo of Desmond Conneely and Robert Finnerty linking up very well.

Finnerty and Adam Murphy struck for two goals in quick succession around the 22-minute mark to give Galway a 2-6 to 0-2 interval lead and they added a third through Ryan Forde after half time, their lead preserved to the end by the shocking profligacy of the Leinster team.

Scorers for Galway: Evan Murphy & Robert Finnerty (0-1f) 1-3 each, Desmond Conneely 0-4, Ryan Forde 1-0.

Scorers for Laois: Diarmuid Whelan 0-7f, Adam Deering 0-2, Finbarr Crowley, Johnny Kelly & Lee Davis 0-1 each.


1. Cormac Haslam (Glenamaddy)

2. Eoghan Deeley (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
3. Seán Mulkerrin (Aran Islands)
7. Fionnán Garvey (Monivea-Abbey)

5. Adam Quirke (Annaghdown)
6. Ernán McDonagh (Bearna)
20. Lee Kenny (Monivea-Abbey)

9. Ross Murphy (Bearna)
8. Seán Raftery (Glenamaddy)

14. Finian Ó’ Laoi (An Spidéal)
11. Evan Murphy (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
12. Ryan Forde (Annaghdown)

23. Rory Cunningham (St Brendan’s)
15. Desmond Conneely (Moycullen)
13. Robert Finnerty (Salthill-Knocknacarra)


24. John Maher (Salthill-Knocknacarra) for Cunningham (35)
25. Seán Thornton (Killanin) for Kenny (41)
26. Liam Boyle (Kilkerrin-Clonberne) for Deeley (53)
27. Martin Kerrigan (An Fhairche) for Murphy (56)
28. Jack Gavin (St Brendan’s) for Ó’Laoi (59)


1. Ross McGrath (Portarlington)

3. Diarmuid Bennett (Portarlington)
2. James Kelly (St Josephs)
4. Richie Hitchcock (Park-Ratheniska)

5. Shane Bolger (Killeshin)
6. Seán Byrne (Portarlington)
7. James O’Connor (Timahoe)

24. Robert Tyrell (Camross)
9. Max Connolly (Ballyfin)

10. Finbarr Crowley (Emo)
11. Adam Deering (Killeshin)
12. Ciarán Comerford (Harps)

13. Alan Kinsella (Courtwood)
22. John Kavanagh (Portlaoise)
14. Diarmuid Whelan (Ballyroan-Abbey)


16. Darragh Phelan (Barrowhouse) for McGrath (24 – bc)
15. Johnny Kelly (O’Dempsey’s) for Kinsella (ht),
20. Dylan Feane (Portlaoise) for Bolger (43 – bc)
23. Lee Davis for Comerford (43)
21. E Lowry for Kavanagh (43)

Referee: James Bermingham (Cork)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Donegal second-half comeback sees off 14-man Cork in All-Ireland quarter-final

A duo in 1992, a trio in 2016 – the McHugh Donegal football family tradition

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin Egan

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel